Upgrading my gaming rig - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2011, 02:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 41
Default Upgrading my gaming rig

hi guys.
over the next few weeks i intend to purchase a few new parts for my gaming rig, as i have some cash save for it and what not. I think that i have covered all my basses and that everything is going to work together. my main issue is my cpu cooler, im not sure if its going to fit with my case. anyway here's what i have currently and what im upgrading to.

some random p55 board
coolermaster storm sniper
500g hd
1tb hd
Corsair CMV4GX3M2A1333C9 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3
coolermaster v6 cpu cooler
asus gtx 570
750w modular powersupply (coolermaster i think, its fully modular)
intel core i5 2500k



i intend to change my case, memory, cpu cooler, add a few fans, motherboard. the price doesnt bother me much.
Corsair CMT8GX3M2A1866C9 8GB (2x4GB) Dominator GT memory
ASUS P8Z68-V Pro Gen3 Motherboard
Thermaltake Black Chaser MK-I Full Tower
CoolerMaster V10 Hybrid TEC (looks so cool)
CoolerMaster 120mm Silent Blue LED Fan x2 (swapping the fans in the v10 as red doesnt suit the rest of my led lighting)
CoolerMaster MegaFlow 200 Blue x2 (to go on the top of the case and on the side port, side intake and top exaust)
__________________

highelve0065 is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 03:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Upgrading my gaming rig

while I agree with getting more RAM, going from 1333mhz to 1866mhz ram will net you roughly 2-3% performance in most programs, 1% in games.
I know you said price isn't an issue, but just sayin'.
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 09:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading my gaming rig

Go with a SSD for your OS and main programs. That will give you the best performance bump.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 12:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 41
Default Re: Upgrading my gaming rig

my apologies, i forgot to mention that i have already purchased a ssd and hopefully i will receive it tomorrow. once again sorry my mind is a bit all over the place lately.
highelve0065 is offline  
Old 12-20-2011, 12:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Upgrading my gaming rig

+1 on the RAM.
One of the perks to the set you linked is the fan that comes with it, which you couldn't use due to the cooler.
I'd go for some 1600 with the lowest CAS you can find/afford (this is nice for <1/2 the price).

I'd take a Corsair H80 or H100 over the V10 TEC, but that may just be personal preference, they should cool about the same.

Also, keep in mind if you originally bought an OEM copy of Windows you'll need to buy a new one when you swap out the motherboard.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 12-21-2011, 12:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 41
Default Re: Upgrading my gaming rig

thank for the help. i did consider the H100 to the v10 but i like the look ok the v10 better, thats just me though. my only real concern is if it will fit in my new case.
highelve0065 is offline  
Old 12-26-2011, 05:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 41
Default Final Upgrade Specs

I think iv finally worked out what im going to put in my upgraded rig.

thermaltake chaser mk 1 case, upgrading from the coolermaster storm sniper
asus sabertooth p67 mother board upgrading from an asus p55 express board
intel core i5 2500k upgrading from an intel core i5 650
coolermaster v 10 upgrading from a coolermaster v6 cooler
Corsair dominator 2x4gb sitcks of memory upgrading from 2x2gb sitck of kingston memory (all ddr3)

there is only one thing that im still considering is my motherboard, the asus p8z68gen 3, also if i can get away with not upgrading the cpu it would be good, im not intending on overclocking in the near future.

thanks in advance
highelve0065 is offline  
Old 12-26-2011, 05:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Final Upgrade Specs

the motherboard is up to you.
CPU you will definitely have to upgrade if you upgrade the motherboard. i5 650 is a socket 1156 CPU while the i5 2500k CPU is a socket 1155 CPU. only 1 pin difference, however they aren't interchangeable.

if you are definitely not going to attempt overclocking, might as well buy the i5 2500 non-K version. same cpu, but no overclocking.

Corsair dominator - make sure they're rated for 1.5v (or lower) operation.
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-26-2011, 07:39 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Final Upgrade Specs

The Cooler Master V10 is a total failure, stick to the V6.

I merged your new thread with your old thread, one thread per topic.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 12-26-2011, 12:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 41
Default Re: Upgrading my gaming rig

thanks Slaymate for moving the thread .
iv decided to go with the sabertooth motherboard. is there any other cpu cooler that i could upgrade to or is the v6 still perfectly viable? the ram is 1.65v, how much of a difference is that going to make?
__________________

highelve0065 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading my Gaming Rig Mister Inveigler New Systems | Building and Buying 3 08-02-2010 10:08 PM
Upgrading Gaming Rig motounplugged New Systems | Building and Buying 16 11-27-2009 07:06 PM
Upgrading gaming rig for the holiday, need some geek help Moffman New Systems | Building and Buying 18 12-07-2008 02:07 AM
Upgrading my Gaming Rig - Few questions blayez New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-30-2008 09:44 AM
upgrading gaming rig edwardopowers New Systems | Building and Buying 8 09-09-2007 08:08 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.