Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless) - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2009, 05:15 AM   #61 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

take a look at this one.

Newegg.com - ASUS EAH4870 DK TOP/HTDI/512MD5 Radeon HD 4870 512MB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 05:59 AM   #62 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

At what resolution do you game?
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 06:27 AM   #63 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Cluelessnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 49
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

1440 x 900
Cluelessnoob is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 07:08 AM   #64 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

Ah then yeah the Asus 4870 above will do you well for quite some time. In fact, try to spend somethign on upgrading the CPU.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 08:53 AM   #65 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to FlyingCoyote
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

You know what's good with all the 4800's is that if want better performance just add any 4800 card and bridge them together using crossfire. im planing to got two 4890's it will be sweet
FlyingCoyote is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 08:56 AM   #66 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

Crossfire is pointless on 1440x900 though.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 09:55 AM   #67 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Cluelessnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 49
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

Haha i'll wait just abit longer to see if that HD 4770 comes out
Cluelessnoob is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 02:57 PM   #68 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: MA
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to FlyingCoyote
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
Crossfire is pointless on 1440x900 though.
lol true
FlyingCoyote is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 05:46 PM   #69 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Cluelessnoob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 49
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

Hm i am also getting a new processor, i had this heatsink in mind, but i don't think it's compatible with my mobo ::: Zalman, leading the world of Quiet Computing Solutions :::

also says AMD mobo's need a Stock Retention Frame? I don't know what that is or if i have that.
Cluelessnoob is offline  
Old 04-19-2009, 08:32 PM   #70 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading my Desktop (Clueless)

The Stock Retention Frame is the plastic frame around the CPU socket on the motherboard. Some HS/F require this to be removed, but this cooler uses it as-is.

The CNPS 9500 is good, but the CNPS 9700 has a bigger fan, 90mm vs 110mm.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I'm upgrading my ram samuelleeb System Upgrades 2 12-15-2008 02:25 PM
Get To Know Linux: Desktop Environment vs. Window Manager Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 12-11-2008 06:14 PM
Active Desktop Recovery - On a limited account carnageX Microsoft Windows and Software 0 11-15-2007 01:37 AM
New Computers - Which looks best for me? Chris Down New Systems | Building and Buying 8 11-13-2007 11:42 PM
Google Desktop Goes Mac Osiris Apple and Mac 1 04-06-2007 01:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.