Upgrading my Dell 8250 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2007, 02:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 42
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
All games use gpu
Well the game I'm referring to is Anarchy Online.. the developers have stated that it does not matter if you are running quad SLI cards, or a PCI Video card from 10 years ago, your CPU will be 100% maxed out because graphics are processed on the CPU. Its the way that they designed it to work.

And its true, proven 100s of times, unless your CPU is very strong, which mine obviously is not.

So instead of replying my question with more questions, why is it no one on these boards will willing to ANSWER my direct questions?
__________________

Kbalz is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 02:08 PM   #12 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

With a max of 533 FSB, the 3.06 is about the best you could do, and that's not much more than what you already have. The 478 is somewhat ancient by today's standards, so there's not much you can really do with it besides maxing out your RAM and tossing in a better GFX card.

If you decide to see about putting together a new rig, there are many here who can put together a list based on your budget that would produce a machine that would blow your mind.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 02:11 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 42
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
With a max of 533 FSB, the 3.06 is about the best you could do, and that's not much more than what you already have. The 478 is somewhat ancient by today's standards, so there's not much you can really do with it besides maxing out your RAM and tossing in a better GFX card.

If you decide to see about putting together a new rig, there are many here who can put together a list based on your budget that would produce a machine that would blow your mind.

Thanks for the reply, I actually did a few hours of research last night and found out the same.. If I did go with the 800mhz FSB chips, they would clock down and actually run slower than my current chip, so the 3.06 is the best I can get.

I am building next year, my budget for computer will be $6000. Waiting on new iterations of Yorks, and slight price drops, as well as next gen vid cards.
Kbalz is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 03:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

6 G's? You can have anything you want with that, and then some. Anything over $2K gets a little tough to find things to take up the money (without getting goofy with it).
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 03:21 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 42
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
6 G's? You can have anything you want with that, and then some. Anything over $2K gets a little tough to find things to take up the money (without getting goofy with it).
I'm sure I won't have trouble, I plan on having two 30" Wides, I read SLI can run 3 cards (or was it 4) in SLI mode soon (or now). I'll buy RAM so fast I won't have to OC it.. I also want new speakers, a chair, maybe wall mount for the monitors, and some software.

Custom Case too, painted all slick
Kbalz is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 04:02 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

In my opinion, 6k is a ridiculous amount of money to spend, because new stuff will come out and it will be outdated again. 1,500 to 2,000 is fine for a powerful system. Two 30" screens arent easy to drive, and theres also power usage to take into consideration.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 09:24 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 42
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
In my opinion, 6k is a ridiculous amount of money to spend, because new stuff will come out and it will be outdated again. 1,500 to 2,000 is fine for a powerful system. Two 30" screens arent easy to drive, and theres also power usage to take into consideration.
I use two 30's at work, I miss them when I leave! I'll also need a new desk I think too, that will also be part of the 6k - There will probably only be about 3000 in the CPU tower, rest will be around it.
Kbalz is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 03:19 AM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kbalz View Post
I use two 30's at work, I miss them when I leave! I'll also need a new desk I think too, that will also be part of the 6k - There will probably only be about 3000 in the CPU tower, rest will be around it.
Thats more reasonable, you can get a nice desk for around 250-500. Why not get dual 24"? Those only cost about $350 each, and are still pretty big and sport that high resolution.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 06:39 AM   #19 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

hrmm ram so fast you won't have to oc it? don't matter... how fast your ram is running, it won't take place for clock speed.....

think i have an 8250 at my work.. piece of junk.... give me headaches w/ how crappy it is.... i have such a hard time running photoshop w/o freezing when i zoom in.. or crop or do much anything
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-21-2007, 07:58 AM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 42
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricanflow View Post
Thats more reasonable, you can get a nice desk for around 250-500. Why not get dual 24"? Those only cost about $350 each, and are still pretty big and sport that high resolution.
So when I unviel it to my friends, I can say "Look at the size, of the monitors" And they will go "OOooooooooOO!" Then drink a beer.

6" Difference is pretty large, I need the 30s, price is not an issue.
__________________

Kbalz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Inspiron E1705 Gaming laptop Really Cheap Norcent Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 6 11-30-2007 05:49 PM
A newbie need help: upgrading from ancient dell PuluPulu New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-11-2007 10:45 AM
Dell to finally ship PCs with Linux Osiris Linux and Open Source 7 05-13-2007 04:54 AM
Dell 24" lcd - can't get full resolution w/ DVI regeisle Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-16-2007 09:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.