Upgrading my Dell 8250 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2007, 12:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 42
Default Upgrading my Dell 8250

Looking to upgrade my Dell Dimension 8250, it is a few years old and need a slight boost before I build my own box late next year.

Here is my CPU-Z screen

http://i260.photobucket.com/albums/i...balz/CPU-Z.jpg

The only change I made to it since I bought it was bought two more Ram Modules, so it is now running 1 GB of 533 fsb RDRAM.

Ignoring heat, PSU.. what chip would be compatible with that mobo? I'm hoping to get 3.2+ GHZ.

Any recommondations? Thanks, Kb
__________________

Kbalz is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 12:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

You'll need to post a screenshot of CPU-Z Mainboard tab as well.
__________________

__________________
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 01:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 42
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

Quote:
Originally Posted by aetherh4cker View Post
You'll need to post a screenshot of CPU-Z Mainboard tab as well.
Mainboard:

http://i260.photobucket.com/albums/i...CPU-Z-MB-1.jpg
Kbalz is offline  
Old 12-14-2007, 01:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Corrupt Techie
 
aetherh4cker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 752
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

What do you need it to do that it can't?
__________________
aetherh4cker is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 03:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 42
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

I have CPU intensive game, it doesn't use GPU at all.. CPU is maxed out at 100% while running game, if I can run a dual core or HT, that may help. I really just need higher GHZ on the proc.. but I'm afriad to upgrade the chip without this community's input
Kbalz is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 03:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

What is the processor right now? YOu can get up to P4 2.26, 2.4, 2.53, 2.66, 2.8, or 3.06 GHz with a 533 MHz FSB.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 12-16-2007, 03:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

its a Dell thats socket 478... so he can't overclock, but I don't think there are P4 HT for Socket 478
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 12-17-2007, 03:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 42
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

Yeah I can not OC with this mobo, but I'd rather keep this mobo.

I have the 2.8, 533. I remember when I bought it from Dell, the 3.06 was available, but a few hundred dollars more (at the time).

I was looking at this list: (sorry, you'll have to copy/paste the link, it is full of brackets messing up the BB code)

http://computers.pricegrabber.com/processors-retail-box/p/42/popup1[]=150:276/popup3[]=30:278/popup2[]=10:976/sortby=priceD

There are some, that are 800 MHZ FSB.. that look perfect speed for me, but will that MHZ clock down or how does that work? Otherwise, there is only the 3.06 GHZ that is 533 mhz fsb. Thoughts? Thanks a bunch for replying.
Kbalz is offline  
Old 12-18-2007, 04:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 42
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

Can anyone confirm the chip that I posted will be compatible with the Dell mobo?
Kbalz is offline  
Old 12-20-2007, 01:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell 8250

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kbalz View Post
I have CPU intensive game, it doesn't use GPU at all.. CPU is maxed out at 100% while running game, if I can run a dual core or HT, that may help. I really just need higher GHZ on the proc.. but I'm afriad to upgrade the chip without this community's input
All games use gpu, if you have a weak gpu then your cpu will still get maxed out. What card do you have?
__________________

__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Inspiron E1705 Gaming laptop Really Cheap Norcent Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 6 11-30-2007 05:49 PM
A newbie need help: upgrading from ancient dell PuluPulu New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-11-2007 10:45 AM
Dell to finally ship PCs with Linux Osiris Linux and Open Source 7 05-13-2007 04:54 AM
Dell 24" lcd - can't get full resolution w/ DVI regeisle Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-16-2007 09:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.