Upgrading my Dell - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2007, 09:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Exclamation Upgrading my Dell

Hi there! I have a few questions about a Dell I purchased last summer. It's a Dimension E510. what I do on it is MAINLY gaming with some video editing and graphic design. I mainly play Source Engine games but can't play them to the max like I want to because my current gfx card is too weak. My PC specs:

Processor: Pentium 4 3.4 ghz w/ HT
RAM: 2 GB
GFX: ATI Radeon x600 HyperMemory 256 MB
PSU: 350 Watts

I know I would need to upgrade my PSU to get a new graphics card more than likely. What would the best bu LEAST EXPENSIVE route be?

The AGEIA Physics Accelerator says that is works with 300 watt PSUs, would that help the smoothness and the look of my games? I really need a boost in smoothness because I do a lot of Machinima films with a Half-Life 2 mod known as Garry's Mod.

If the Physics Accelerator is not good, then what are some good PSU and GPUs that I could upgrade to?

Thanks in advance!
__________________

iGarrett is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 04:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 511
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell

I would go for a better graphics card, AGEIA PhysX isnt worth it.

Nvidia 7800GT Would be Fine.

Computer hardware and software at amazing prices, available online from Scan Computers UK

Thats about 100£ which is cheaper than a AGEIA and will give more graphics help.

AGEIA PhysX only work on PhysX games, and since Source games run Havok physics engine it wouldn't help.

Computer hardware and software at amazing prices, available online from Scan Computers UK

This is probs a bit too powerful, though I don't know the requirements of a 7800.
__________________

__________________
Computer
HAF 932 -- ASUS P8Z68-V
Intel i5 @ 4.5Ghz -- CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
8GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black 1600MHz -- 2x XFX ATi Radeon HD 6970 2GB
Raze664 is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 06:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell

Yeah the Physx card isn't worth the money.

Anyways couple of questions, Where do you live? How much are you willing to spend or your definition of "least expensive"?. And upgrading your PSU and video card is going to be difficult in those dell cases >.>.

7600GT $75

8600GT $100

400W PSU $40
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-10-2007, 08:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 511
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell

Could of gave us a bit more information about budget, whether the port is PCI-E or AGP.

As PZEROFGH said.
__________________
Computer
HAF 932 -- ASUS P8Z68-V
Intel i5 @ 4.5Ghz -- CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
8GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black 1600MHz -- 2x XFX ATi Radeon HD 6970 2GB
Raze664 is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 09:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell

Well, looks like I was lied to by the Dell rep. They said I had a 350, I opened it up and found it was a 305.

I am aiming at 200 max. I live in NC. I only have a PCI-E interface...

Could I pay Best Buy's Geek Squad 30 bucks for them to install the PSU and then I install the gfx?
iGarrett is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 09:43 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell

Quote:
Could I pay Best Buy's Geek Squad 30 bucks for them to install the PSU and then I install the gfx?
Bigger waste of money then a physx card !!!

Honestly installing a PSU and graphics card isnt that hard to do. Just make sure you plug everything back in

EDIT: Looking online it looks like the E510 uses a standard ATX power supply and it seems like you are able to upgrade it with any ATX psu
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 09:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell

Alright, so if I bought a 400-450 watt PSU and EVGA GeForce 7900GS then will my graphics be a lot smoother and I can run on higher levels?
iGarrett is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 09:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell

Quote:
Originally Posted by iGarrett View Post
Alright, so if I bought a 400-450 watt PSU and EVGA GeForce 7900GS then will my graphics be a lot smoother and I can run on higher levels?
Hmm link to a 8600GT?

Anyways you should be able to run most games on high settings
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 09:59 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell

Sorry, I changed it right when I posted. So you must have beaten me to it...

What are your thoughts on a PNY Verto GFX card? When I got Half-Life 2 when it was released I upgraded my dad's computer from a crappy onboard Intel GPU to a PNY Verto 5500 FX and it still works phenomenally other than the hardware Direct X is 8...
iGarrett is offline  
Old 08-11-2007, 10:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 122
Default Re: Upgrading my Dell

a word of advice, don't cheap out on PSU's you want one with stable voltages. motherboards are very sensitive to spikes or dips in voltage. DON'T CHEAP OUT!. it doesn't have to be more than 400 - 500 W but make it a quality one.
__________________

__________________
Pentium D Dual core 2.8 GHz
Thermaltake Big Typhoon (CPU Cooler)
Radeon X 300 Series
Kingston 2 GB RAM
2 Seagate 160 GB HDD 7200
Thermaltake 500 Watt PSU
Sony 17" LCD Monitor
Thermaltake "Tsunami Dream" case
Sony DVD ROM
Pioneer DVD RW
Wverb0783 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A newbie need help: upgrading from ancient dell PuluPulu New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-11-2007 10:45 AM
Dell to finally ship PCs with Linux Osiris Linux and Open Source 7 05-13-2007 04:54 AM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
Dell 24" lcd - can't get full resolution w/ DVI regeisle Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-16-2007 09:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.