Upgrading my computer, what power supply?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-24-2007, 11:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 15
Default Upgrading my computer, what power supply??

Hey all currently my system is:
Intel Celeron D 346 3.06Ghz
1.5Gb of ddr400 pc3200 ram
Palit 6800GS Super g card (512mb ddr3)
Sata 80Gb 7200rpm hd
Acer e661gxm mobo
300w power supply ( )

I want to upgrade my computer to:
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 (2.4ghz)
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
120Gb sata2 western digital hd

Im assuming i need a new power supply, maybe 400-450w?
or could i still manage with my 300w.

thanks in advance
denni0302
__________________

denni0302 is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 02:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Definitely a new psu, I'd say around 500w just to be safe.
THis antec one looks like a great deal. Wait until you hear some other recommendations, though.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103937
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 04:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 15
Default

oh ok then thanks for ur reply, ill try find an aussie site that has that psu
denni0302 is offline  
Old 02-25-2007, 11:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Oh duh, sorry, I didn't notice you were from AU. Any psu from a good brand (Thermaltake, Coolermaster, Antec) with two 12v rails and around 500w will be just fine. Antec just happens to be less expensive at the moment.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 02-26-2007, 03:21 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 15
Default

lol, no problem, my friend has pointed out a very good psu [well we think so] its a
Coolermaster Extreme Power 550w V2 PSU
found at:

http://pcmaniacs.com.au/product_info...oducts_id=3461

im not sure if its 12v rail, if u dont mind could u check and give me your opinon on it

thx
denni0302 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.