upgrading my computer (please help) - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2007, 08:53 PM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 232
Send a message via AIM to monster12348
Default

I checked memory and stuff and Im willing to buy 1gb
__________________

__________________
"Man's greatest enemy of all is itself"
monster12348 is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 08:54 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 232
Send a message via AIM to monster12348
Default

You have a Hewlett-Packard Pavilion a1030e
System Details:

Computer Manufacturer & Model: Hewlett-Packard Pavilion a1030e
Currently Installed Memory: 2 slots: 512 MB, empty
Maximum Memory Capacity: 2.0 GB
Total Number of Memory Slots: 2


Memory Slot 1: 512 MB
Memory Slot 2: Slot is empty – Ready to accept memory upgrade
__________________

__________________
"Man's greatest enemy of all is itself"
monster12348 is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 08:56 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 232
Send a message via AIM to monster12348
Default

u there?
__________________
"Man's greatest enemy of all is itself"
monster12348 is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 08:57 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default

Hey, if you look on the left side, where your name is, at the bottom of that are two buttons. I'm not sure if you saw them, but the one on the left is "Edit".
Ellothar121 is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 08:59 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 232
Send a message via AIM to monster12348
Default

and?
__________________
"Man's greatest enemy of all is itself"
monster12348 is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 10:48 PM   #26 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ellothar121
Hey, if you look on the left side, where your name is, at the bottom of that are two buttons. I'm not sure if you saw them, but the one on the left is "Edit".
haha don't be rude to the new guy man.


Well anywas, If you want to spend $100 dollars first, the best hting woudl be to buy some ram a gig stick will cost you aroudn 80, and that would bump our total to 1.5 gigs, but if you are interested, You could just build a whole new system for under 5000 and it wil handle wow fine.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 10:53 PM   #27 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

The main thing holding you back is your videocard becuase once you get a decent videocard, you will see a HUGE improvement.

This videocard is 119, but only $99, after rebate. This will be perfect for you, its agp too for your motherboard. And it will handle wow according to this oen guy' review lol. "Pros: I can play my games (WoW,ET) at maximum quality settings with very decent framerates on an ASUS MB with an Athlon XP 2600+."

And his cpu is older than yours.

Radeon x1650pro: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102057
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 08:01 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 232
Send a message via AIM to monster12348
Default

so this is the best I can get with 400 by getting a new computer. Oh yeah and I have a friend who doesn't need a few computers and IM gonna see if any of the parts can maybe work for me, maybe save me some money idk... Ill have to figure it out. I just hmmm.. I wanna know wat I need to buy. I know I need a case, and then wat will i use from this computer and wat will I buy.. Im stuck on this right now
__________________
"Man's greatest enemy of all is itself"
monster12348 is offline  
Old 02-11-2007, 08:20 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default

I wasn't trying to be rude, sorry if it came across that way. I didn't see any other way to do it, other than drawing a picture, and I thought that was slightly demeaning. Some of my friends have never been on a message board before, so I thought I'd make it as simple as possible.
Ellothar121 is offline  
Old 02-12-2007, 07:26 AM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 232
Send a message via AIM to monster12348
Default

NP lol thats wat u do to noobs
__________________

__________________
"Man's greatest enemy of all is itself"
monster12348 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.