upgrading my computer (please help) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2007, 08:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 232
Send a message via AIM to monster12348
Default upgrading my computer (please help)

I have a HP Pavilion a1030e with these specs:
512 MB ram
Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
(if you want to know anything else email me and Ill tell you)

I want to upgrade this computer to make it better for gaming experiences instead of buying a whole new computer for $1300 (when I configured it to my taste and it came out as that) anything I can upgrade to make it better (its mainly for the game World of Warcraft, it lags some (not too much) but I want it to be a lots better. I can upgrade graphics card, sound card, and of course memory so that it goes with no lagging. (I dont want it to be incredible but I will play wow without anything else open). So what can I do? please help. I dont know how to figure out how to show u what the graphics and sound and stuff is so please I need some tips. Anybody nice enough to take time to figure this out I am very grateful

Sincerely, Ivan Oceguera
__________________

monster12348 is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 08:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 232
Send a message via AIM to monster12348
Default

P.S. My email is monster123456789@hotmail.com
__________________

__________________
"Man's greatest enemy of all is itself"
monster12348 is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 08:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Well for starter's we are gign t need to know at least these three htings.

1.Cpu, What model? What type?
2. Videocard, What kind do you ahve and what slot?
3. Your psu to see if you'll need a new one when upgrading.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 08:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 232
Send a message via AIM to monster12348
Default

How do you figure out if a sound card, or graphics card is compatible to your computer? Example- current sound card, default, new soundcard- Creative labs soundblast etc. will it work?
__________________
"Man's greatest enemy of all is itself"
monster12348 is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 08:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 232
Send a message via AIM to monster12348
Default

Where do u find the videocard info. I did go to accessories and system info but I didnt find it. Any tips?
__________________
"Man's greatest enemy of all is itself"
monster12348 is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 08:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by monster12348
P.S. My email is monster123456789@hotmail.com
We can just PM you lol its easier, but why don't you just share it? Whats the problem?
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 08:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 232
Send a message via AIM to monster12348
Default

PM??? and how do I share it? LOL, im not very computer techy (and lol I am a guy)
__________________
"Man's greatest enemy of all is itself"
monster12348 is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 08:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Ya downlod this, install it and it will tell you all that you have, your videocard, and everything.
http://www.oldversion.com/program.php?n=everesthome

download the 2.20 version, and Then click on motherboard to see what cpu you have, thenunder graphics you'll see what videocard you have.
__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 08:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 232
Send a message via AIM to monster12348
Default

c:\windows\system32\dvc.dll Adaptec DVSoft(tm) OK C:\WINDOWS\system32\DVC.DLL 1.1.1.112 8.50 KB (8,704 bytes) 12/30/2005 8:03 PM
c:\windows\system32\iccvid.dll Radius Inc. Cinepak® Codec (CVID) OK C:\WINDOWS\system32\ICCVID.DLL 1.10.0.11 78.50 KB (80,384 bytes) 8/4/2004 12:00 AM
c:\windows\system32\ir32_32.dll Intel(R) Corporation Indeo® video R3.2 by Intel OK C:\WINDOWS\system32\IR32_32.DLL Not Available 194.50 KB (199,168 bytes) 8/4/2004 12:00 AM
c:\windows\system32\ir41_32.ax Intel Corporation Indeo® video interactive R4.4 by Intel OK C:\WINDOWS\system32\IR41_32.AX 4.51.16.03 828.50 KB (848,384 bytes) 8/4/2004 7:00 AM
c:\windows\system32\ir50_32.dll Intel Corporation Indeo® video 5.10 OK C:\WINDOWS\system32\IR50_32.DLL R.5.10.15.2.55 737.50 KB (755,200 bytes) 8/4/2004 12:00 AM



Is that it?
__________________
"Man's greatest enemy of all is itself"
monster12348 is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 08:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Vinsanity
 
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: West Coast Cali
Posts: 1,234
Send a message via AIM to BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by monster12348
PM??? and how do I share it? LOL, im not very computer techy (and lol I am a guy)
lol PM=Private message, just click "Send PM" next to a user's name, and it will let you send them a private message, just like an email. Also what i mean by sharing is why don't you just post it, you were saying to email you lol when you can just post what you have when you reply.
__________________

__________________
New build in progress, but this is what I got for now:
-AMD x2 5200+
-Asus M3A78-EM AM2+
-Buffalo 2x1gb ddr2 800
-Hitachi 250gb Sata HDD
-Antec Minuet Case w/ 350w psu
-Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
BiGyLiLuPdAmIdL is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.