Upgrading my compaq presario 5410us - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2005, 08:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 14
Default Upgrading my compaq presario 5410us

I want to up grade my presario so it can run at the best of it's ability. However I do have a few questions.

I have a second harddrive-that adds more space right?

I want to add another slot of ram--will that add speed?

I am also have like 4 storage drives-but i can only hook up 2-so do i need to upgrade the power supply to have more plugs? or can that be done? what is reccommended?

no can my motherboard be upgraded? if so what is recommended and if i do change the motherboard will the pc still be a compaq?

thanks
__________________

midnightsky is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 11:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

I wouldn't....it's a celeron.....which means it won't be very good for gaming....and the ram maxs out at 512, build some cheap AthlonXP or P4.

Look like your specs?
1.3-GHz Celeron
256 MB RAM
40 GB hard drive
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 12:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i think you need a new computer time, you can build a very niec gaming machine for around 600 dollars
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 12:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2
Default

Or you can get a name brand for that same $600! Get a coupon code here (or a bunch of other places on the web).

{or not}

...judging by the fact that both your posts on this forum have been about these coupons, it very much appears like you are spamming us. That sort of thing results in getting yourself banned, you know.
vortigern is offline  
Old 08-24-2005, 12:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

...please, do not bring any dell coupons to TF and plus why would he want to buy a new computer that he cant upgrade...that means he just has to buy a whole new computer next year, why doesnt he just build one himself and upgrade in 2 years or so...and plus dell is a namebrand that sucks, i dont think anyone likes namebrand, they like Build it yourself brand
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.