Upgrading memory on a dimension 9100 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2005, 11:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Default Upgrading memory on a dimension 9100

I have a dell dimenison 9100 I bought two weeks ago. Here's the specs...

Intel Penitum D 820 (2.8 GHz) w/Dual Core Technology
1GB DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHz
256MB PCI Express x16 (DVI/VGA/TV-out) nVidia GeForce 6800
160GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM)
MS Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005
16X DVD-ROM and 16X DVD+/-RW
SB Audigy 2 ZS
Dual TV Tuner (which blows)

anyway... I want to upgrade to two gigs. I have two 512 sticks in there manufactured by dell obviously. Getting two more 512's will cost me like 170 bucks if I get them from dell which is kind of insane. I went on newegg.com and found so many companies that make the same memory super cheap.

My question is... should I upgrade using dell memory, and if I don't need to, what other company should I use that has reliable memory. I was also wondering if I could get a 1 gig stick instead of 2 more 512's. I think I read somewhere that you are suppose to keep them all the same size. Thanks
__________________

exOptimum is offline  
Old 08-20-2005, 11:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

$170 bucks seems cheap... for ddr2, 2xsticks of 512.

Roger
__________________

__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 12:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

It is kind of cheap actually. You can look around on Newegg for 1GB sets...
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-21-2005, 02:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 18
Default Re: Upgrading memory on a dimension 9100

Quote:
Originally posted by exOptimum
I have a dell dimenison 9100 I bought two weeks ago. Here's the specs...
1GB DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHz... Getting two more 512's will cost me like 170 bucks if I get them from dell which is kind of insane.
My question is... should I upgrade using dell memory
OK, your Dell 9100 (just got one last week myself) has 4 memory sockets. While you could install RAM singly, you need matched pairs for Dual-Channel access. The machine takes either 533 MHz or 667 MHz modules, but if you mix them it will run all modules at the slower speed, so there's no point to buying the faster type.

You do know that Dell doesn't make RAM, right? So they are selling the same Samsung or Infineon or Micron that everyone else provides. Your best bet is to get RAM from a reputable seller who guarantees compatibility with your model of machine, offers a lifetime warranty, and a no-cost return if it doesn't work.

You can install 2 more 512 Mb in the machine for a total of 2 Gb - your machine will then be stuffed, so if you want to go beyond 2 Gb you'll have to take some of the 512's out.

If you are in the USA you can get the 533 MHz for $118 for the pair here
Data Memory Systems

Thanks
Trevor
CanadaRAM.com
CanadaRAM is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.