Upgrading Media Center a1357c? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2012, 04:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Question Upgrading Media Center a1357c?

Hello I have an HP Media Center PC that's been my main PC for almost two years. However, I realized a while ago it's hardware leaves a lot to be desired. So, I decided to upgrade the RAM from 1GB to 4GB (maximum the board allows), but I didn't end up purchasing it because I was told by a few sources I have that the processor (AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+) is the basis for why I should just get a new PC. I don't really want to do that so I looked for processor upgrades and through my research I only found one processor that's only slightly faster (AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+). The current specs are:

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Approx. 2.2 GHz per core
RAM: 1 GB
HDD: 250 GB

The specs would be:

Processor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ Approx. 2.4 Ghz per core
RAM: 4GB
HDD: 250 GB

In my unprofessional opinion the upgrade is worth it. What do you think?

P.S. Thank you in advance.
__________________

Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 05:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Upgrading Media Center a1357c?

No not really. There is only a 200MHz jump in speed and you wont see the difference. What about the C2D setup? That would be a bigger increase in performance.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 08:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Re: Upgrading Media Center a1357c?

I apologize ahead of time for my lack of familiarity with any terminology. What do you mean by C2D?
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 08:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Upgrading Media Center a1357c?

Core 2 Duo you mentioned in the other thread. It is 2x the performance of one of these X2s.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 08:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Re: Upgrading Media Center a1357c?

Oh okay I understand. As far as I'm aware, the motherboard of my Media Center PC doesn't support the other processor I mentioned as I can't find one with a socket 939 connection. In addition the official HP specs indicate that only three different processors are compatible with the motherboard, hence why I had the other setup in mind. I'd like to build my own PC down the line, but I've priced out how much it would run me and I came up at least $1000. Being that I have school as well as living expenses, I can't afford that anytime soon. My plan was to upgrade one of these PC's to, in a sense, hold me off until I was financially stable enough to afford building my own. What are your thoughts?
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 08:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: Upgrading Media Center a1357c?

Use the other one. Like I said, the C2D is about 2x the power of even the 4600+. There is no point in upgrading this current setup any further as it would be a waste of money if you have another option.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 08:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default Re: Upgrading Media Center a1357c?

I shall then. Thank you for the advice.
__________________

Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
processor, ram, upgrade

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.