Upgrading a Lemon - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2013, 02:20 AM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
maddangerous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post

Just an FYI, Windows 7 runs fine on 1GB of RAM.
Maybe PPMguire might voice his tips :P, I really don't see it running fine with 1 gig of ram, when about 700ish meg was taken up by system processes. That was with slimming down the unneeded boot processes as well
__________________

__________________
"A man with a beard is a man who truly means business. The shirt and tie merely accentuate the sense of business provided by the beard" - Socrates
maddangerous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 02:32 AM   #12 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maddangerous View Post

Maybe PPMguire might voice his tips :P, I really don't see it running fine with 1 gig of ram, when about 700ish meg was taken up by system processes. That was with slimming down the unneeded boot processes as well
Well I wouldn't say it's impossible. I've fixed machines running XP on as little as 128MB RAM. I've seen 7 on systems with a measured 1.5GB. Granted performance was dismal, but they ran. Lol
__________________

Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 02:36 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
maddangerous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorax_the_Impaler View Post

Well I wouldn't say it's impossible. I've fixed machines running XP on as little as 128MB RAM. I've seen 7 on systems with a measured 1.5GB. Granted performance was dismal, but they ran. Lol
Lol right? The least I've seen for xp was 256 meg I believe. Convinced my buddy it was time for more ram lol
__________________
"A man with a beard is a man who truly means business. The shirt and tie merely accentuate the sense of business provided by the beard" - Socrates
maddangerous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 02:41 AM   #14 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maddangerous View Post

Lol right? The least I've seen for xp was 256 meg I believe. Convinced my buddy it was time for more ram lol
Lol a relative once brought me a "custom" built computer for repair. A whopping 2.12 Ghz single core processor, 1.5GB RAM, and Windows 7 installed. They purchased it not but a year before I saw it.
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 02:43 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
maddangerous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 260
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorax_the_Impaler View Post

Lol a relative once brought me a "custom" built computer for repair. A whopping 2.12 Ghz single core processor, 1.5GB RAM, and Windows 7 installed. They purchased it not but a year before I saw it.
Haha really? My relatives ask me before they buy a pc
__________________
"A man with a beard is a man who truly means business. The shirt and tie merely accentuate the sense of business provided by the beard" - Socrates
maddangerous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 03:11 AM   #16 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maddangerous View Post

Haha really? My relatives ask me before they buy a pc
The vast majority of my relatives dont like me and those who do would rather pay someone to tell them information about computers I'd give them for free lol
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 11:48 AM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Upgrading a Lemon

My normal 7 install is about 750MB on any machine because I do the same thing to all machines I touch. When my friend came over for a while I was stealing a 2GB stick out of my fiances machine making her run on 2GB of RAM and she couldn't tell the difference really. That's somebody who uses Chrome and Firefox at the same time. 2GB is fine for any general PC, 1GB is pushing it but it still runs, and 512 is just too small for any real computing.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 02:45 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: India
Posts: 6
Default Re: Upgrading a Lemon

I felt the same confusions in past, I am using graphic apps such as AutoCAD , 3dsmax, CCTV simulator, games, virtualization etc.... I was using AMD sempron ,2800+ with 712 ram ( ie impractical) it seem slow so I upgraded it to Athlon 5500+, 2 gb ram... after some days the same situation .. it never ends well now seriously you should customize your system,, monitor the performance still needed go for it... if you customize it in best way you will change your mind... os itself resources hungry stuff, I still love Windows xp due to minimum resources best performance for all my necessity apps
siddharaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 03:35 PM   #19 (permalink)
Minecraft Veteran
 
Thorax_the_Impaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 352
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by siddharaj View Post
I felt the same confusions in past, I am using graphic apps such as AutoCAD , 3dsmax, CCTV simulator, games, virtualization etc.... I was using AMD sempron ,2800+ with 712 ram ( ie impractical) it seem slow so I upgraded it to Athlon 5500+, 2 gb ram... after some days the same situation .. it never ends well now seriously you should customize your system,, monitor the performance still needed go for it... if you customize it in best way you will change your mind... os itself resources hungry stuff, I still love Windows xp due to minimum resources best performance for all my necessity apps
That is also a reason I like Windows XP. And another reason I'm mad my laptop is too old to support it lol
Thorax_the_Impaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 03:38 PM   #20 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Upgrading a Lemon

You mean too new? Anything can be run on XP lol.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
laptop, processor, upgrade

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.