upgrading laptop RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2010, 03:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 25
Default upgrading laptop RAM

Hi , Im gonna re format my HD cos win 7 is getting slow , so i was thinking why not use a 64 bit and get more ram . At crucial they sai I can upgrade to 4 gb from 3 gb but cant exceed this --

this is my make : Acer Aspire 7720 Laptop/Notebook

can you let me know if this is can be ignored safely , its a manufactures warning but may be because the laptop was sold with a 32 bit OS ---

idealy I'd like 6 - 8 gb of ram

cheers
__________________

ramdude is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 03:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: upgrading laptop RAM

post the link to the crucial page where you get the results.

using a 64-bit OS doesn't allow you to get more ram, it allows you to use more ram.

like, it's not going to change something to force your pc be able to use 12gigs of ram if it doesn't say it supports that much, but if your pc does support 12gigs of ram, it would allow you to use it.

now, if it says your laptop supports 4gigs max, then that's the max. it could be a hardware limitation, as in the mobo cannot supprot anymore than that.
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 04:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: upgrading laptop RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
post the link to the crucial page where you get the results.

using a 64-bit OS doesn't allow you to get more ram, it allows you to use more ram.

like, it's not going to change something to force your pc be able to use 12gigs of ram if it doesn't say it supports that much, but if your pc does support 12gigs of ram, it would allow you to use it.

now, if it says your laptop supports 4gigs max, then that's the max. it could be a hardware limitation, as in the mobo cannot supprot anymore than that.
Hush, stop lying to him.
Download More Ram - The Ram Experts!

*Note*
The above is a joke.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 04:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: upgrading laptop RAM

omg srsly? *@orihS Shiro*
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 04:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: upgrading laptop RAM

Memory upgrades from Crucial.com - Determine My Memory Needs

"using a 64-bit OS doesn't allow you to get more ram, it allows you to use more ram - " yeh sorry I mean get more ram as in buy more ram and install it .

"like, it's not going to change something to force your pc be able to use 12gigs of ram if it doesn't say it supports that much, but if your pc does support 12gigs of ram, it would allow you to use it."
so your saying it will only read the ram it CAN use and use it

"now, if it says your laptop supports 4gigs max, then that's the max. it could be a hardware limitation, as in the mobo cannot supprot anymore than that."
Im no newb( just to this forum )so I know for a fact machines are designed to be upgraded along with OS's ---so its probably just saying theres a limit of ram for my current 32 bit OS - you reckon ?

Also its probably not worth bothering for 120 - 160 quid I may aswell save like a squirrel before a nut famine and buy a new machine what do you reckon muff man

ramdude is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 05:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: upgrading laptop RAM

There are limitations on certain boards, not sure on that particular board/chipset, but lappies are notorious for having these low RAM maximums
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 03-17-2010, 10:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: upgrading laptop RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirCyber View Post
There are limitations on certain boards, not sure on that particular board/chipset, but lappies are notorious for having these low RAM maximums
As he said certain boards has their limitations and your board has a limitation of 4GB. Can't see nor use anything more than that, as a matter of fact...it wouldn't even boot.
Also you can use the button to multi-quote and just select the button to begin your reply .

You laptop specs: Acer Aspire 7720 Specs, Laptop Reviews on CNET UK.
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 03-19-2010, 06:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: upgrading laptop RAM

thanks all v helpful and kind : )
__________________

ramdude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading ddr2 ram for my gaming computer but not sure of any good deals out there. BradS New Systems | Building and Buying 5 12-28-2009 02:12 PM
questions about upgrading ram ex_nihilo System Upgrades 11 10-11-2009 11:11 PM
Guide: Ram Timings For Dummies H4x3r New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-01-2009 07:45 PM
Laptop RAM help xdorkieex Laptops and Notebooks 2 11-12-2008 09:25 PM
Upgrading from 2GB to 3GB RAM (XP 32bit) mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-06-2008 05:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.