Upgrading from integrated graphics: need dual-monitor support - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2007, 04:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Default Upgrading from integrated graphics: need dual-monitor support

Hi, first post.

I have a Sony Vaio PCV RS310 with integrated Intel 845GV graphics. I do want to add a second monitor, so it looks like I need to buy a video card. Unfortunately, my computer has no AGP or PCIe slots. I do have a free PCI slot, so I hope that's workable, since I'd rather not upgrade the motherboard, unless I find a good-enough deal.

I also want something cheap, since I'm not a gamer. Would it be possible to buy a PCI video card and use that together with my existing integrated graphics, and thereby have two monitors? Or does installing a graphics card automatically disable the integrated graphics? I could also look for a PCI card with dual-monitor support, but that might be more expensive.

Thanks for any help.
-Samer
__________________

Samer is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 04:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

but sony says you have an agp slot in that computer so what do you mean you dont??

to be more exect you have agp version 3.0 that supports 2x 4x and 8x.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 04:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

If you're not looking into gaming, this would be for you.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814103167

If you're using another monitor that is VGA, you will need an adapter, they run pretty cheap.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 04:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Default

All right, so I just checked newegg, and it seems most PCI cards come with a DVI and a VGA connection (both my monitors are VGA, but an adapter sounds like no big deal), so it looks like I could get a cheap dual-display card without needing to use my integrated graphics. Good deal. Of course it's lingering in my mind whether I could then add a third monitor using the integrated graphics, but I'm getting ahead of myself.

King: I went to Sony's website, and no mention of AGP in the official specifications. Checking tech-review websites, it seems it doesn't have an AGP slot. I'd open it up and check, but, well... The case is a real hassle to close. Where do you see that the PCV-RS310 has an AGP slot?

talldude: A review on the Diamond you linked says "Dual moniter sucks," so I'm not sure about that. I wonder if any of the super-cheap cards will work? Stuff starting at 30 bucks: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...SubCategory=48
Samer is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 05:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

This one seems to have the best reviews, and it's got a little rebate on it, good i suppose to save $5.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814241001

The reviews on the cheaper models didn't look good.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 05:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default

Dont go super cheap, as getting a decent card will actually increase the overall performance of the pc, and if you dont even want to open up the pc to check then i dont know what to tell you.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 06:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ricanflow
Dont go super cheap, as getting a decent card will actually increase the overall performance of the pc, and if you dont even want to open up the pc to check then i dont know what to tell you.

You could always ask a local computer shop to install it. They will charge a small fee...
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 06:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

http://esupport.sony.com/perl/model-...l?mdl=PCVRS310

download the system reference manual here thats the one for your board.

almost every computer from pentium 2 and prob earlier have an agp slot for graphics. all sony vaios have agp slots and the ones that dont have pci-e.

you will be much happier with an agp card then pci.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 07:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Installing is no problem, when the time comes. I was just too lazy to stop all my multitasking and open my annoying case, and have to deal with wires, dust, static electricity, and spending fifteen minutes trying to close the stupid thing (they make it like an evil puzzle for some reason).

As far as AGP, this is what Sandra says:
AGP (4h) : PCI 32-bit +3.3V PME Half-Length Available

Very weird.
I found this on a post in another forum:
Quote:
No, this was not a simple question as Sony really screwed the pooch with this motherboard.

The Asus KIRIN-V actually HAS an AGP slot and is designed to have one above it's topmost PCI slot, but Sony saved the $1.25 and decided to just leave the plastic connector off the motherboard....

So, yes- you cannot run a PCI-Express nor an AGP card.. you're limited to just a handful of very low-end PCI cards if you wish to expand the video capabilities. Pretty much the Radeon 9250, FX series (AVOID), or the Geforce 6200 PCI.
Weird. Guess I'm stuck with PCI. Might want NVIDIA in case I want to fiddle with Linux.
Samer is offline  
Old 01-16-2007, 08:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Default

http://www.futurepowerpc.com/scripts...00PPB&REFID=FR
I want to go with this one. The only reservation is the quoted forum post above says to avoid FX series, hmm...Good deal though.
Any thoughts?
__________________

Samer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.