Upgrading an Inspiron 531? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2010, 11:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Yerfdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 326
Default Upgrading an Inspiron 531?

You see, right now I have an Inspiron 531. It has two AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processors (4400+) clocked at 2.3 GHz, if my device manager is to be trusted. :P
It also has an integrated graphics chip (nvidia geforce 6150SE nforce 430). This obviously does not work well for gaming at all. Right now, I just want to be able to play games like Team Fortress 2 and Counterstrike Source well. Right now, I'll be lucky if it runs TF2 at 30 FPS on the lowest settings possible. Without any action going on. I've done a bit of research and it appears that the PSU that came with this computer (my dad bought it back in 2007, I think), wouldn't be powerful enough for a new graphics card.

Do you have any suggestions on what graphics card and power supply unit I would need to get to run TF2 and/or CS:S on high settings at 30 FPS and 1280x800 resolution? Any other upgrades I would need?
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
I agree. You should see the Phenom III x12 I am beta testing. It's running @ 6.2ghz. It literally sends so much information to the ram that Smurfs jump out and punch me in the face.
Yerfdog is offline  
Old 12-31-2010, 11:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Upgrading an Inspiron 531?

Man, that onboard video looks familiar...

That have a 300W PSU? 500-550W should be OK for you. Corsair rules!

What price range are you looking for a GFX? I have a Radeon HD5770. Very nice. Could also get a GTX 260.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-01-2011, 01:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Yerfdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 326
Default Re: Upgrading an Inspiron 531?

Well, preferably keeping the cost of the graphics card under $100.


Also, do any of you know if the motherboard that comes with the Inspiron 531 has PCI-E slots?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-381-_-Product

Saw that. Do you think it could handle it? :P


And yes, I think the Inspiron 531 comes with a 300W PSU.



Which PSU looks better to you:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139004
or
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139019


I think my computer uses IDE HDDs.

Help?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
I agree. You should see the Phenom III x12 I am beta testing. It's running @ 6.2ghz. It literally sends so much information to the ram that Smurfs jump out and punch me in the face.
Yerfdog is offline  
Old 01-01-2011, 02:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading an Inspiron 531?

Yes, it has a PCI-E x16 slot.

Avoid the "Builder Series" as they are crap. I would suggest this PSU:
Newegg.com - Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W Continuous Power ATX12V Ver.2.2 / EPS12V version 2.91 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC "compatible with Core i7/Core i5" Power Supply
$69.99 w/$5 off w/ promo code EMCZNNW24, ends 1/3/11 + $15 MIR

Oh, and this card:
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GV-R485OC-1GH Radeon HD 4850 1GB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-01-2011, 02:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Yerfdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 326
Default Re: Upgrading an Inspiron 531?

Would the power connectors work for an IDE Hard drive?

And also, from what I'm asking for, wouldn't the 4830 be plenty?

Not to question your judgment, but truthfully, I'd probably have to get this as a birthday present, and my parents don't really have a lot to spend. So now I've started thinking it over more, and I'm thinking that total I would need to keep it under $130 (after rebate and shipping) with both the PSU and graphics card together.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
I agree. You should see the Phenom III x12 I am beta testing. It's running @ 6.2ghz. It literally sends so much information to the ram that Smurfs jump out and punch me in the face.
Yerfdog is offline  
Old 01-01-2011, 02:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading an Inspiron 531?

IDE drives use standard molex connectors so you will be fine.

Yes, the 4830 will suffice. I was just going by the $100 limit you posted.

If you want to keep it down then go with the 4830 and the Antec PSU and you will come out good.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-01-2011, 03:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Yerfdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 326
Default Re: Upgrading an Inspiron 531?

Thank you, my good sir.

Now to make sure I don't do anything to get on their bad side so that they will let me open up the computer and put these in when the day comes. :P


Oh, is this all I would need, or would I also need to get another fan as well? Because I really don't want to end up messing up the system by overheating it. >.>
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
I agree. You should see the Phenom III x12 I am beta testing. It's running @ 6.2ghz. It literally sends so much information to the ram that Smurfs jump out and punch me in the face.
Yerfdog is offline  
Old 01-21-2011, 12:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
FairPlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 123
Default Re: Upgrading an Inspiron 531?

If anyone is still around on this thread, the answer to the last question would really help me out.
FairPlay is offline  
Old 01-21-2011, 07:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Upgrading an Inspiron 531?

Extra fans never hurt.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-22-2011, 07:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
FairPlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 123
Default Re: Upgrading an Inspiron 531?

I see what you mean, is there a better cooling system that you would recommend?
__________________

FairPlay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Dell Inspiron 530 Digital Felon System Upgrades 22 10-16-2008 03:12 AM
Upgrading Ram in a Dell Inspiron e1505 ChemGrad System Upgrades 5 03-10-2007 06:35 PM
Inspiron 6400 Bang Train System Upgrades 5 09-15-2006 09:39 PM
Upgrading Hard Drive on Dell Inspiron 1100 Abbygirl Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 07-08-2005 04:11 PM
Inspiron XPS gundam1989 PC Gaming 6 04-11-2004 08:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.