Upgrading the i7 machine - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2012, 05:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 88
Default Upgrading the i7 machine

Current Setup

Motherboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD7
Processor: Intel i7 930
Memory: 6GB Corsair Dominator (CMP6X3M3A1600C8)
GPU: Gigabyte GTS250
HDD: 1TB WD black edition

I'm looking to upgrade my RAM but unsure how I should go forward with it. I have 3 slots empty and a budget of $300 which basically means $150 of Newegg money due to local rip-off prices . I was able to find 8GB Corsair Dominator (CMP8GX3M2A1600C8) for around $200.

So here's the dumb question/s
  • Am I right to assume that the 2A in CMP8GX3M2A1600C8 just means 2 memories while 3A in CMP6X3M3A1600C8 means 3. So basically they're identical apart from the memory capacity obviously.
  • Would I be better off with a single 8GB or does 2 4GB work better?
  • 2GB combo with 4/8GB...good - bad - doesn't matter?

I'm also looking to upgrade my GPU in a month or so cause the fact that battlefield 3 didn't run right on my built kinda did annoyed me. I fall under the casual gamer list.

Thanks in advance and sorry for the rather dumb questions.
__________________

__________________
Intel i7 930 @ 3.69 | Gigabyte X58A-UD7 + Corsair H100i | 6GB Corsair Vengence + 12GB Corsair Dominator | Gigabyte GTS250 | 2*128GB Samsung 830 + 1TB WD Black | Windows 7 Home Premium | Cooler Master HAF 932 | HP ZR2440w
fais7 is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 10:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Upgrading the i7 machine

I'd not bother with your RAM.

I'd get a better gpu, 560ti will be perfect or even a 6850/70... Whats your power supply?

I would get a decent cooler, and overclock. You have a fantastic board, and easily get to 4.0Ghz, my 950 on a ud3 is.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 11:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord of Bacon
 
Roark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,352
Default Re: Upgrading the i7 machine

+1 on upgrading the GPU, it looks to be the lowest piece of gear in your machine.
Just to give you a frame of reference the GTS 250 is #56/58 on the performance list.

As to your RAM questions, I would assume you're right about the model numbers (3A vs 2A).
However, your motherboard supports triple channel memory, so you would better off getting another 3 x 2GB kit, than a 2 stick kit anyway.
__________________
Please read through the thread thoroughly before responding.
Nobody wants to read a wall of text, formatting is your friend.

i5 3570k | 8GB G.Skill 1600MHz | R9 290 | SeaSonic 750X
Roark is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 12:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 88
Default Re: Upgrading the i7 machine

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
I'd not bother with your RAM.

I'd get a better gpu, 560ti will be perfect or even a 6850/70... Whats your power supply?

I would get a decent cooler, and overclock. You have a fantastic board, and easily get to 4.0Ghz, my 950 on a ud3 is.
I need the RAM cause photoshop keeps running out of memory when I need to align multiple images or save giant 16-bit panoramas. The same happens when doing HD video rendering.

I've got a Cooler Master HAF 932 with a Cooler Master V8 for cooling. Power supply is a Cooler Master GX 650 which I believe I'll need to upgrade if I get a new GPU. Haven't looked at overclocking cause my older PC had heating issues (read: hot dusty humid weather in Dubai) after overclocking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roark View Post
+1 on upgrading the GPU, it looks to be the lowest piece of gear in your machine.
Just to give you a frame of reference the GTS 250 is #56/58 on the performance list.

As to your RAM questions, I would assume you're right about the model numbers (3A vs 2A).
However, your motherboard supports triple channel memory, so you would better off getting another 3 x 2GB kit, than a 2 stick kit anyway.
Can't seem to find the 3*2GB kit I have at the retailers so was aiming for a 2*4GB kit. Would a 3*4GB kit work?? i.e. different in memory size does/doesn't matter?

I'm holding off the GPU purchase for a while now cause I'll soon be getting a 24" screen (either Asus or Dell) to go with my ancient 17" Viewsonic. So need a GPU that'll support both the resolutions (1920*1200 with 1280*1024).

And when I bought the GTS 250, I knew it was mediocre but at the time of purchase I hadn't planned to get back to gaming.
__________________
Intel i7 930 @ 3.69 | Gigabyte X58A-UD7 + Corsair H100i | 6GB Corsair Vengence + 12GB Corsair Dominator | Gigabyte GTS250 | 2*128GB Samsung 830 + 1TB WD Black | Windows 7 Home Premium | Cooler Master HAF 932 | HP ZR2440w
fais7 is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 01:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Upgrading the i7 machine

You saying "Photoshop" changes EVERYTHING!

You don't need 3 x whatever kits, just make sure for best resaults you have 3 sticks.. So you can get a 2 x4 and a single 4 to make the required 3 set.

A 560ti, and every new card will support your resolution. So find a quality card at a good price and giver.

Your power supply is just fine unless you decide to add a 2 card setup.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 02:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 88
Default Re: Upgrading the i7 machine

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
You saying "Photoshop" changes EVERYTHING!

You don't need 3 x whatever kits, just make sure for best resaults you have 3 sticks.. So you can get a 2 x4 and a single 4 to make the required 3 set.

A 560ti, and every new card will support your resolution. So find a quality card at a good price and giver.

Your power supply is just fine unless you decide to add a 2 card setup.
Noted. I think I'll take the plunge and get a new GPU as well cause the 560ti looks nice. Just wondering if the Nvidia/AMD cards are due for an update cause then waiting might be justifiable as the prices for the current cards will drop. Would I be able to run games at full quality at 1920*1200 with a decent fps with the 560ti?? I suppose that's the only scenario I might need a dual card setup.

And one last question. Is there anything like having too much RAM?? With 6GB at my disposal, adding 3*4GB gives me 18GB. Overkill??
__________________
Intel i7 930 @ 3.69 | Gigabyte X58A-UD7 + Corsair H100i | 6GB Corsair Vengence + 12GB Corsair Dominator | Gigabyte GTS250 | 2*128GB Samsung 830 + 1TB WD Black | Windows 7 Home Premium | Cooler Master HAF 932 | HP ZR2440w
fais7 is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 03:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Upgrading the i7 machine

Overkill is only based on the user. An average user needs 6/8 gigs max.

But video/picture/music/rendering etc needs more. How much more is dependant on the user.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-12-2012, 05:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Upgrading the i7 machine

This memory will work with your present setup

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL8TU-6GBPI

as will this kit

Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL8T-6GBRM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 01-14-2012, 05:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dubai, UAE
Posts: 88
Default Re: Upgrading the i7 machine

So checked out the local stores and they only have

- Corsair Vengeance 12gb (3 x 4gb) 240-pin ddr3 sdram ddr3 1600 (pc3 12800)

- Corsair Dominator 8gb (2 x 4gb) 240-pin ddr3 sdram ddr3 1600 (pc3 12800)

Mixing the timing of 9-9-9-24 with my current 8-8-8-24 make any substantial difference?? Also they have different voltage??

If I add a Dual Channel Kit (2*4GB) to my already triple Channel kit...will it make a huge difference?? I won't be able to add another single RAM to it cause they're not available.

Also couldn't find any other (good) brands apart from Patriot though I'd never tried it before so didn't bother checking the specs. Are they any good??

Btw when I checked CPU-Z...my SPD section Max Bandwidth is at PC#-10700H (667 Mhz) so does this mean my memory is running at 9-9-9-24 i.e. JEDEC #3??

Attachment 5088

Thanks in Advance
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CPU.jpg (95.3 KB, 43 views)
__________________

__________________
Intel i7 930 @ 3.69 | Gigabyte X58A-UD7 + Corsair H100i | 6GB Corsair Vengence + 12GB Corsair Dominator | Gigabyte GTS250 | 2*128GB Samsung 830 + 1TB WD Black | Windows 7 Home Premium | Cooler Master HAF 932 | HP ZR2440w
fais7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading My Machine (HELP) Bjorn88 System Upgrades 3 09-10-2010 12:46 AM
finishing upgrading my machine... insanepsycho New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-01-2008 07:36 AM
So I'm at a machine and I see this office politics Off Topic Discussion 6 03-01-2006 10:55 AM
how well my machine OC? boomstick666 Overclocking and Modding 4 12-04-2005 05:00 PM
E-Machine ADZ Off Topic Discussion 14 11-20-2003 08:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.