upgrading the HP 6300 PRO Elite 3.4GHz i7 3770 8gb ram ddr3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2018, 08:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,009
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default upgrading the HP 6300 PRO Elite 3.4GHz i7 3770 8gb ram ddr3

so i got a great deal on 2 of these boxes for me and my kid

comes with 1tb drive also and upgraded to 8gb ram

i want to upgrade a video card for him to be able to at least play the original halo without lag( or tron 2.0) those are the only games i have and of course the classics like quake and unreal tournament

for my kids box i want to upgrade to a good video card for single monitor dvi or hdmi

and for mine i need to get the best i can fit in it for dual monitor DVI or hdmi

im also putting the other 8 gigs of ram into his box and buying some better ram for mine
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 08:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,305
Default Re: upgrading the HP 6300 PRO Elite 3.4GHz i7 3770 8gb ram ddr3

If they're SFF the best you can do is a LP 1050.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 12:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,009
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: upgrading the HP 6300 PRO Elite 3.4GHz i7 3770 8gb ram ddr3

its not the smallest one
it is small form factor but it has the pci 16x and 2 more pci slots
the smaller ones doesnt have pci slots
Attached Images
File Type: jpg hp6300.jpg (96.5 KB, 6 views)
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 12:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,009
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: upgrading the HP 6300 PRO Elite 3.4GHz i7 3770 8gb ram ddr3

dam i feel retarded now that i forgot how to even find a proper graphics card for the computer when i used to build these things as a hobby...wtf
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 12:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,305
Default Re: upgrading the HP 6300 PRO Elite 3.4GHz i7 3770 8gb ram ddr3

Yea that's SFF like I said, the smallest one is their mini. Best thing is low profile 1050.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 12:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,009
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: upgrading the HP 6300 PRO Elite 3.4GHz i7 3770 8gb ram ddr3

but that's not for dual screen though
for mine I wanted dual DVI for now since I have 2 dvi monitors
later on im planning to switch to bigger size hdmi dual monitor setup
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 11:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,644
Default Re: upgrading the HP 6300 PRO Elite 3.4GHz i7 3770 8gb ram ddr3

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...00%20601275822

Plenty of LP 1050's with multiple outputs. Not going to find one with multiple DVI ports - so you'll need to get an adapter from either HDMI or DisplayPort.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 05:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,305
Default Re: upgrading the HP 6300 PRO Elite 3.4GHz i7 3770 8gb ram ddr3

Yup, better get used to DVI being on the way out.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 12:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,009
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default Re: upgrading the HP 6300 PRO Elite 3.4GHz i7 3770 8gb ram ddr3

so I should go with hdmi instead?
or display port?
for my dual monitor.
if I do upgrade im gonna go with 2 4k monitors
I think I fingered it out
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 10:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 29,305
Default Re: upgrading the HP 6300 PRO Elite 3.4GHz i7 3770 8gb ram ddr3

Any new monitor will have HDMI or DP as a standard. 4k panels are fine as long as you aren't trying to game at 4k.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[AUST] AMDx4 3.4Ghz CPU, 8Gb Ram + Motherboard, ATI Radeon HD 4890 Harper Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 1 08-15-2013 09:25 PM
I cant decide between the 8GB Samsung RAM or the 8GB Kingston RAM? Ordlan Laptops and Notebooks 1 05-29-2012 09:12 AM
What is the difference between DDR3 PC 1 RAM and DDR3 PC 2 RAM? soarwitheagles New Systems | Building and Buying 5 08-09-2010 11:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.