Upgrading Harddrive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2005, 08:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 53
Question Upgrading Harddrive

I currently have an 5400RPM 80GB Western Digital HDD which I've been using for a few years and I need more space. I was wondering if I keep this HDD in my system and purchase a new 7200RPM SATA, if the new drive would have a decrease in performance because I also have the older IDE drive. I was thinking windows and games on the new harddrive, and MP3s, utils, and other non-intensive things on the older drive. Will I still get the full benefit of SATA when I'm not reading data from the 5400?

Also, if I have a program running from the IDE drive using minimal resources in the background, will I get a performance decrease when I'm playing a game off the new drive, merely because it's reading and/or writing to/from both drives simultaneously?
__________________

kcrknp is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 09:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default

I once have my system setup just like that a primary SATA Hard Drive and slave my IDE (7200rpm) both btw. In my case i notice some decrease and problems sometimes BUT thats in my case, anyway what i did was i buy a external enclosure and make the ide hard drive external via USB and its works great but thats just me.

I hope this help you and clear you out some of you doubts

BTW which Hard Drive are you considering into buying??

Check this out:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822148065

This one looks good but the only downside is that the cache is only 8mb i would recommend a 16mb cache.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144701

This one i like it in my opinion, it have the 16mb cache .
__________________

Phanto is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 12:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 53
Default

I do like that WD with the 16mb cache, but I wasn't looking to spend that much, I'm on a tight budget so I was considering this one even though its a Maxtor, it still has the 16mb cache and NCQ. Plus my board doesn't support SATA II so I won't gain anything in that respect.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822140168
kcrknp is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 01:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phanto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 603
Default

That hardrive is more than fine in fact if i'm correct i have that same HD
if you really want to buy it go for it. BTW SATA II is backward compatible even if you buy a HD SATA II you can use it in your mobo that support only SATA I, just to let you know
Phanto is offline  
Old 11-03-2005, 03:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 53
Default

Thanks for your help mang. I'll be back if or when I have install problems.
kcrknp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.