Upgrading graphics card & power supply - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2014, 03:48 PM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 17
Default Re: Upgrading graphics card & power supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Well for right now to get you going all you need to do is try plugging the power button cable in. It won't hurt it to just plug it in randomly anywhere in the FP area (just not anywhere else). When it's plugged in right your PC will turn on when you push the button in.
ok thanks ill try that right now
__________________

Vytaftas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 06:24 PM   #32 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 17
Default Re: Upgrading graphics card & power supply

Well it finally works, again few questions.
My pc slower now for some reason(i think), also i could connect the big blue wire for video only to motherboard is that right? (cant install video drivers because it doesn't recognize my card, because big blue wire is plugged in to motherboard?)

And do i have to plug in both cables for my motherboard to PSU? there is ~20 pin and ~10?pin i tried only with ~20 first and my pc didnt start.
Right now i connected them both, i don't know if it should be like that.

After every PC restart video card fans go crazy(and stay that way) or just spins slow..

Edit: also there's no sound
Idk if i should install new drivers or something..

Edit2: yep i had to install audio codecs/drivers again, i don't know if it's because i changed my case or that i used that DDU program..
__________________

Vytaftas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 08:30 PM   #33 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Upgrading graphics card & power supply

You need to go into the bios to try and disable onboard video.

Which blue wire? Do you mean the VGA cable? Did you plug the PCI-E 6pin power cables into your video card?

See above.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 08:36 PM   #34 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 17
Default Re: Upgrading graphics card & power supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
You need to go into the bios to try and disable onboard video.

Which blue wire? Do you mean the VGA cable? Did you plug the PCI-E 6pin power cables into your video card?

See above.
Yes i think VGA cable, the one that goes into your monitor too.

Yea i did, 2 of them, 1st - 8pin, right next to it 2nd - 6pin.

Maybe you have skype/steam or anything like that? It would be faster and easier for us, at least for me.
You can remove me after if you want.

I disabled onboard card reader in bios that didnt do anything. I still can't install video drivers and my card fans sometimes go crazy after a restart(and stay that way)
There is no other options about disabling onboard stuff

Sometimes my resolution changes after a restart too, windows update installed some Intel HD video thing

Edit: I have added you on steam, i've tried some things on my own but nothing worked
Vytaftas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 08:37 AM   #35 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 17
Default Re: Upgrading graphics card & power supply

Sorry for double posting.
I am just hoping that someone else could reply faster about this.

I found an old vga adapter from an old pc, with it i could plug in vga cable straight into my graphics card (right now it's connected to the motherboard). Should i do that? Or it won't help at all and it's a stupid idea?

If i should do it, there are 2 places i can plug it in, does it matter which one?
Vytaftas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 11:58 AM   #36 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Upgrading graphics card & power supply

Just messaged you on Steam.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help Upgrading Vid Card/Power Supply? Tinsil New Systems | Building and Buying 12 05-27-2009 11:05 PM
FS:2.4 P4 chips & 2.8 P4 &Laptop Ram & Vid Cards & More! 98RedGs Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 3 07-30-2008 04:16 PM
750 watt power supply vs. 1000 watt power supply Greenplantseed New Systems | Building and Buying 9 12-13-2006 11:48 AM
Trying to provide additional power for graphics card with additional power supply stainer711 System Upgrades 6 12-27-2005 09:42 AM
Effects of too low of a power supply with power whoring graphics? stainer711 System Upgrades 2 12-27-2005 12:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.