Upgrading graphics card to nvidia geforce 6200 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2005, 01:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default Upgrading graphics card to nvidia geforce 6200

Hey everyone. I'm not excatly a genius when it comes to PCs, but I DO want to upgrade to play Half-Life 2.

Now, I'm contemplating upgrading my crappy old Rage card to a nvidia geforce 6200. I'm trading my PS2 and games in for one at my local store, but I've been advised in other forums to avoid it. Why should I?

If it helps, I can post my specs from Everest Home Edition. But before I do that, I'm told I could run a nvidia geforce 5700le for half-life 2 just fine on my PC, so if I can run that could I run this?

Plus, not to sound rude but I'd appreciate it if you wouldn't reply with 'ooh, get this card, it's much better'. I played on a 5700 at this store and it looked great to me. I'm not investing in a great card to play for future games that require a supersonic graphics card like FEAR, just something I can play Half-life 2 on decently.

Thanks!
__________________

Dark Strider is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 03:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Plus, not to sound rude but I'd appreciate it if you wouldn't reply with 'ooh, get this card, it's much better'.
Then what DO you want? Someone to say "go for it" so you can justify buying a POS card?

You should be looking at a 6600GT. $150 at newegg.
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 03:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Exactly, that can run HL2 on 1024x768 on high settings w/ 100+ FPS
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 03:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default

omg, I knew this would happen.
Dark Strider is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 03:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

If your limited on money, the 6200 is a good choice.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 04:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default

basically, like I said, I'm only buying it for hl2. will it look anything like a 5700le?
Dark Strider is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 04:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 530
Default

hehe. They are right, 6600gt is very good, but I know what you mean, I have said that same thing and gotten the same responses in another forum. ANYWAY, ( ) posting your specs would help for me/us to say whether the 5700 would play OK on your system. I know you didn't want people to tell you to get another (for you are trading your games for one,) but le editions usually aren't as good.

The 6200 is worth about $70, and depending on your PS2 game amount/type, you may be getting ripped off. Not really ripped off, but if you sold your PS2 games in a lot on ebay or something you could get more $$$.

Anyway, a 6200 will of course play HL2 pretty well depending on your other specs. Oh, if you are also looking for BF2 to play on that too, the 6200 isn't supported, but I THINK it still runs it.

As for the 5700le....it is more $$ than the 6200 and I am pretty sure not as good. Well there are about 2 cards that are about the same price as the 6200, but they are 64 bits which are slow.

Summary: 6200 is pretty good, I don't see anything wrong with getting it.
__________________
Quintox is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 04:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

6200 > 5700
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 04:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

ATi Radeons perform as well as any nVidia in Half Life 2.

Proof.

As long as you run at 1024x768, you should get very good with the Radeons.
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 05:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 136
Default

like flanker said, Its an ATI game. So if hes not playing anything else in the future i would got for an ATI card. at the least an X300. it played HL2 well on it but scale down resolution a bit
__________________

__________________
1GB PC3200 DDR400 RAM
Intel Pentium 4 540J HT 3.2 GHz
ASUS X800LX 256 (OC 415/500)
---------------------------------------------
3Dmark05: 4987][3Dmark03:11043
Cellbuster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.