Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2009, 05:30 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

I don't get it, the graphics card you suggested (HD 4850) is very high on this websites list of graphics card rankings, it is #14. That doesn't seem right, especially because it is only $100.


Oh yeah what kind of socket type is the motherboard you linked me too? Is it PCI, or something else?

And how do I know that the graphics card will fit the mobo, and even more important, the case?
__________________

explorer7 is offline  
Old 07-27-2009, 05:42 PM   #22 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

AMD doesn't really care about the top anymore, right now its all about the Bang for the Buck.. which is really what's driving the fanbase slightly into their favor.

Plus, HD 4850's lost some popularity for a bit when the HD 4770's came out (which had similar performance for $100), so they had to cut down prices on the HD 4850 when they stopped producing HD 4770's
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-29-2009, 02:58 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

Yeah I just want to make sure everything fits in place and it the right type for the motherboard.
explorer7 is offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 09:12 PM   #24 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

Ok I just figures out that the 4850 HD is PCI express, but I don't think that the mobo is PCI. Can somebody clear this up?

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100245L Radeon HD 4850 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
explorer7 is offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 09:19 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

It has one.. its the big red one above the two white ones..

But I would get a better board if I were you.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 09:21 PM   #26 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

Why so?
explorer7 is offline  
Old 07-30-2009, 09:23 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

The board is made by a crappy company, hardly any expansion room (2), and most the HD 4850 will cover up the one below it (because of its massive fan), so you'd only have one PCI card slot left, also the chipset isn't that good.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 04:57 AM   #28 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

Also, in my experience I have found the system performance to be slightly higher on a system with a dedicated graphics card and no onboard video, than on a system with the same card and a motherboard with onboard video. That gets difficult in mATX builds tho, not many competitively priced boards will come without it. If you are going AMD, try and keep with the 770 and newer series.

@ vernong, im pretty sure hes limited to a mATX board unless he gets a new case, so he is kinda stuck to having the 4850 taking out one of the pci slots, but honestly would it ever get used? Good catch on the board company :cheers: i have had quite a few bad experiences with zotac

anyways, im checking the budget range on good amd boards, keeping sub $70

Newegg.com - BIOSTAR TFORCE TA780G M2+ AM2+/AM2 AMD 780G Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

Newegg.com - ASRock A780GMH/128M AM2+/AM3 AMD 780G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 09:33 AM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

I had the top Biostar board, it wasn't so great... but then again I was an enthusiast on an extremely low budget.

I'd say for a normal rig that's not too bad.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 02:28 PM   #30 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

Same, i didn't have the T-Force, but had the lower end model, the GeForce 6100 for skt939 and it was a pretty good board. Sad thing was i sold the tower wtih that board, and i dunno what the guy did but all of the usb died (but he was not gentle on pc's)
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
upgrading my PC's Graphics card armbuck System Upgrades 2 06-26-2009 09:03 AM
* Looking for new Graphics Card for my ASUS A8N32-SLI DELUXE 3800+ motherboard * Newbie05 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 06-22-2009 12:29 AM
Noobie - Anyone know what kind of Ram I take?! Kemperz System Upgrades 8 06-21-2009 11:59 PM
Two CPU & two graphics card MOBO mystikast System Upgrades 4 04-21-2008 06:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.