Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2009, 10:29 AM   #11 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

The ECS site says it can run up to 65nm Core2Duo's with up to a 133MHz FSB, but Gateway's tech specs say up to Conroe's with up to a 800MHz FSB. Looking at NewEgg, I only see a E2200 that would be better than what you have (in a 65nm). Anything beyond that might not work but I am not an Intel guy so I can't make that call.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 02:40 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

A 945 chipset will limit your cpu upgrade options since it won't support 45nm cpu's and Intel has already phased out most of their 65nm models. The e2200 Trotter posted is about as good as it gets for 65nm at this point although it's basically the same cpu as the e2140 just with a higher stock speed.
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 04:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

I guess there is no avoiding upgrading my mobo.
explorer7 is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 12:23 AM   #14 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

With your current motherboard you can run the new video card, all you would need is a bigger power supply to make your system handle it. Seeing as how you already have a lga775, I would get the video card/psu first (to get you up and running) then upgrade the mobo (keep the stock cpu/hs) and when more money hits upgrade the cpu/heatsink. you don't necessarily need to upgrade your motherboard/cpu, but it is a big bottleneck, and any improvement here will help alot.

Just my 2
Also, I just did a little research, and you have 244mm (24.4cm, or 9.6") between your I/O sheild on the back and your hard-drive bay, so the card might be a little bit of a squeeze (they are about 23cm or 9", so that gives you about 1/2 of an inch (12.5mm) of clearance for the power connector on the back of the card. It should fit.

Page for the motherboard on ECS site:
ECS Web Site

This heatsink should do you pretty good
Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks

paired with this cpu maybe too
Newegg.com - Intel Pentium E6300 Wolfdale 2.8GHz 2MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

board however, not my specality, as I am an AMD guy aswell...
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 09:02 AM   #15 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

This combo deal should save you a few dollars

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 11:47 AM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

just go with what he said ^

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmxfreakrider View Post
With your current motherboard you can run the new video card, all you would need is a bigger power supply to make your system handle it. Seeing as how you already have a lga775, I would get the video card/psu first (to get you up and running) then upgrade the mobo (keep the stock cpu/hs) and when more money hits upgrade the cpu/heatsink. you don't necessarily need to upgrade your motherboard/cpu, but it is a big bottleneck, and any improvement here will help alot.

Just my 2
Also, I just did a little research, and you have 244mm (24.4cm, or 9.6") between your I/O sheild on the back and your hard-drive bay, so the card might be a little bit of a squeeze (they are about 23cm or 9", so that gives you about 1/2 of an inch (12.5mm) of clearance for the power connector on the back of the card. It should fit.

Page for the motherboard on ECS site:
ECS Web Site

This heatsink should do you pretty good
Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - CPU Fans & Heatsinks

paired with this cpu maybe too
Newegg.com - Intel Pentium E6300 Wolfdale 2.8GHz 2MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

board however, not my specality, as I am an AMD guy aswell...

you picked out the newer 45nm E6300, which wont work with the older mobo he has. intel stupidly named that one.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 11:49 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

tbh putting money into restrictive setups like these is a waste overall. I would bear with what you have and save up for a proper budget setup.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 12:13 PM   #18 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

With Hussein's combo and the 4850 you would looking at $210. Match that up with the Antec I linked to and you have $270 with you reusing your case, hard drive, RAM, and optical drive.

If you wanted to get new RAM it is cheap. These are $43.
Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB &#40;2 x 2GB&#41; 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 &#40;PC2 6400&#41; Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-4GBNT - Desktop Memory
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 11:53 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

I was thinking of getting the things separately, like the Graphics card and power supply first, but I think it would do better to get them all at once, in a combo. It is hard for me to compare graphics cards and decide which ones are better. But I think I can go for the $270 fairly quick. Thanks for your help everyone.
explorer7 is offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 02:23 AM   #20 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Upgrading Graphics card, New CPU too?

OH MY GOD!!!!

You got a great set up that can over clock to 3.5ghz and all for under $300?
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
upgrading my PC's Graphics card armbuck System Upgrades 2 06-26-2009 09:03 AM
* Looking for new Graphics Card for my ASUS A8N32-SLI DELUXE 3800+ motherboard * Newbie05 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 06-22-2009 12:29 AM
Noobie - Anyone know what kind of Ram I take?! Kemperz System Upgrades 8 06-21-2009 11:59 PM
Two CPU & two graphics card MOBO mystikast System Upgrades 4 04-21-2008 06:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.