Upgrading a graphics card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2017, 02:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Orlando
Posts: 6
Question Upgrading a graphics card

Hello!

I'm thinking of upgrading my GPU in an older system, but I was wondering if this was even possible/compatible.

PSU: Dell 460 WATT
Motherboard: Dell 0YJPT1

It's quite an older system, but yeah.

I was thinking of putting in a GTX 1050ti.

Would this be possible? (Currently the GPU is an AMD Radeon HD 7500)

Thanks in advance!
__________________

Nicootje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 03:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 27,615
Default Re: Upgrading a graphics card

Is it the Dell XPS 8500, probably with a Pentium D? If it's a full/mid tower variant yea you could easily. Only problem being that CPU is going to cry for mercy with whatever you do.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 03:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Orlando
Posts: 6
Default Re: Upgrading a graphics card

It's not that version I suppose.

This tower has a i7 - 3370 @ 3.4 ghz

So I think the bottleneck wouldnt be too big?

Thanks again!
Nicootje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 03:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 27,615
Default Re: Upgrading a graphics card

Then what model is the machine, because everything that comes up for that board says XPS 8500. It does say 1155 so yea the 3370 will be fine.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 03:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Orlando
Posts: 6
Default Re: Upgrading a graphics card

It seems like it is an XPS 8500, but with a different CPU?

But I think this would only reduce the bottleneck?

Thanks!
Nicootje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 03:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 27,615
Default Re: Upgrading a graphics card

The difference being it's a 3rd gen XPS, so there won't be any bottleneck with that CPU. I was thinking for some reason XPS 450, idk why. That has a Pentium D.

Anywho doesn't appear there will be a problem and it'll be a solid little machine. It looks like you could probably upgrade the PSU later too.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 02:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Orlando
Posts: 6
Default Re: Upgrading a graphics card

Yeah, was thinking about doing that in the future too

Thanks man, you helped me out a lot
Nicootje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 02:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
MadmanRB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: In the not too distant future...
Posts: 199
Default Re: Upgrading a graphics card

Indeed a nice upgrade, the 1050ti will make a lot of older machines into gaming machines and with little power draw.
I actually say its nvidias best GPU due to how powerful it is for its price and its perfomance being close to its more powerful brothers in many respects.
Sure it doesnt have the same ammo as the 1080,1070 or 1060 but right now it can be gotten for a fair price while the 1060 is still up there thanks to etherium mining.
And even when the prices do level out its not a bad option at all.
__________________

__________________
TerraRyzen
MadmanRB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
graphics card, upgrade, upgrade graphics

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Confused with upgrading RAM/graphics card Yenko System Upgrades 12 12-08-2005 11:15 PM
Upgrading Graphics Card Fropez87 PC Gaming 1 12-07-2005 01:47 AM
Upgrading my Graphics Card Nobel New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-12-2005 12:49 PM
Upgrading graphics card to nvidia geforce 6200 Dark Strider System Upgrades 23 09-01-2005 01:53 PM
upgrading my laptop graphics card/ram/processor? the drizzle Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 04-24-2005 05:55 PM


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.