upgrading graphics! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-23-2008, 12:03 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: upgrading graphics!

Quote:
Originally Posted by harnar123 View Post
are you joking me, my assingment for both of you is find me a bench that shows 2gb vs 4gb ram drastically improving gaming performance. Now, you need a new psu ( just to throw it out there I will sell you a nice one either a rp-550 used for 35 plus 8 dollars shipping or a rp-550-2 for 50 shipped) and a 9800gt would see much larger performance gains. O and chances are you have xp which can't support 4gb.
I don't know if I'm saying this rite. This is my understanding of RAM, its not that XP cant support 4gig's is that a 32-bit O/S only supports up to 4gig's (Vista - 32 & XP - 32). Now lets say you have 4gig's in your current build (example) and you are running XP 32 - Bit. Now if you take a look at your computer properties it should show that you are running 3.5gigs of RAM, the other 512MB is being used for video. Now lets say you take a 8800GT or something that has 512MB of on board RAM and you install it; it should still say 3.5gig's. But if you get a GPU with 1gig of RAM on board and installed it, it should say 3gigs of RAM. I'm not sure but I think if you take 2 GPUs that have 1 gig each on a 32 - O/S, it would show 2gigs of RAM (if you have 4 gigs installed). I don't know if I'm 100% correct but I'm not sure.
__________________

Algorithmus is offline  
Old 10-23-2008, 01:20 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: upgrading graphics!

Thats how i calculate it and i have been told otherwise.
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 10-23-2008, 01:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: upgrading graphics!

wrong.

how much ram you can use in 32bit is limited by the 32bit OS itself, not because you have a discrete graphic card.

graphic card does not even come into play unless you have integrated graphic card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
In order to access Address X, the CPU needs to store the value of X in a register in the CPU and tell the memory to read the contents of the address stored in that register.

Registers in x86 PCs are limited to 32 bits, which means the biggest number that can be stored in that register is 2^32, or 4,294,967,296; which means that the CPU can access up to "ADDRESS 4,294,967,296" which is the 4th GB of data.

The problem is that the CPU also access I/O devices (printer, USB, keyboard, mouse, monitor, etc.) by assigning them an address as well. So it reserves half a GB or so of the memory addresses to talk to the I/O devices... So you have 4GB - ~0.5GB -> 3.5 GB (on Windows it is 3.2GB).

As for 64 Bit well it can recognize and utilize up to 128GB of RAM or something amazing like that.
please refer to this thread for more info
Difference Between 32 Bit (x86) and 64 Bit (x64)


Quote:
Originally Posted by drewjustforyou View Post

I was looking at the 9800 GT, but I have 2 open ram slots, (currently 2x1gig, 666mhz) what if I added 2 more 1 gigs? would I have to worry anything about the timing (as I have never built a pc from the ground up, I am unsure If I could handle this.)

Ram-wise, would it be better to go 4x1 or 2x2?

Gfx card- do most gaming cards require more then the stock psu? and what would the minimum power supply need be? also, what kind of connectors do most cards take, and on what rail? ty for all the help so far!
1. no
2. 2x2
3. depends, if it were a prefab gaming PC, probably fine with stock, however MOST prefabs aren't gaming PCs so probably need a stronger PSU
4. there is no minimum, it all depends on what you want to run in your PC
5. 6pin? I think
6. 12V rail
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 10-23-2008, 03:02 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY, USA
Posts: 881
Send a message via AIM to Ethan_Kaizer Send a message via MSN to Ethan_Kaizer
Default Re: upgrading graphics!

RAM isn't supposed to give you more FPS, but if your computer is lagging a lot, even at the menu, then you might need more RAM to run the game smoothly. I have 2 gigs of ram, and Crysis takes over 1gb itself while it's running for me, so it definitely makes a difference.

If you have 2 free slots, and already have 2 x 1gb of RAM in your computer of DDR2 667, then I suggest getting this:

Newegg.com - Kingston 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

You should look into what kind of power supply you have now. If it's a low amount like 400 or less, and you don't want to spend the money to get a new psu and graphics card, I suggest this:

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100255L Radeon HD 4670 512MB 128-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

That's the card I have, and it can play any game smoothly, on high settings (at 1280 x 1024 resolution).
Ethan_Kaizer is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 12:51 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 539
Default Re: upgrading graphics!

doesn't the 8800gt still beat that card for the same price?
harnar123 is offline  
Old 10-28-2008, 10:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: upgrading graphics!

Quote:
Originally Posted by harnar123 View Post
doesn't the 8800gt still beat that card for the same price?
If you can find a 8800 GT for the same price as a 4670. Then stop typing and order that 8800 GT.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading to an AGP Graphics Card. HELP PLEASE! cooleddy4 System Upgrades 10 10-12-2008 11:08 AM
Upgrading Gateway Desktops Graphics Squidslime System Upgrades 9 08-04-2008 10:30 AM
Upgrading Graphics Drivers Black.Ice. Microsoft Windows and Software 3 07-28-2008 08:34 PM
New graphics card for £100 Alvin.C New Systems | Building and Buying 8 06-19-2008 06:10 PM
Upgrading Graphics card, need suggestions ulcajun New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-10-2008 06:58 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.