Upgrading Grafics Cards - Please Answer :) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-29-2010, 09:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Default Upgrading Grafics Cards - Please Answer :)

Ok, a friend of mine has a Unopened

-iceq 4 HIS radeon hd4850-

Grafics Card, and he is getting a new computer with a better one then that anyway, and he said he would give the unopened one to me due to the lag issues with this Grafics card:

-GeForce 6150se nforce 430 -

I was just wondering if you think my system could handle it. Here are my specs:

6.00GB Ram
AMD Anthlon II x2 250u Processor 1.6 GHz
64-bit (OS) <-- Know it doesnt matter for this but anyway.
300 Watt Power supply (edited in)

New problem though. ( My Grafics card is built into my motherboard ). and idk if it would fit so...

Thanks for the help. if you have any (decent price solutions that would help also)

Elix3r is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 09:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
Abstract Hero's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Upgrading Grafics Cards - Please Answer :)

That will work fine.

- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 09:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
fr34ky's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default Re: Upgrading Grafics Cards - Please Answer :)

Is your pc a prebuilt? Just wondering if your bios is locked.

It would help greatly if you could overclock your cpu to above 2ghz at least.
fr34ky is offline  
Old 11-29-2010, 10:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,723
Default Re: Upgrading Grafics Cards - Please Answer :)

what power supply do you have? (make and model/wattage if you know it, if you don't know it you can find this info on the sticker on the psu itself)
Muffin Man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 blue bricks problem from startup (Grafics card) Runesmacher Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 10-23-2010 10:22 AM
Upgrading Vid cards, tough decision krazy_taco New Systems | Building and Buying 17 08-23-2007 07:44 PM
Upgrading Video cards, and its hassles crazlunatic New Systems | Building and Buying 15 10-28-2005 12:55 PM
Upgrading Video Cards Wayniac Overclocking and Modding 15 05-16-2005 03:11 PM
Upgrading Graphics Cards Triarii Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 02-18-2005 06:01 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.