Upgrading to get a DECENT Gaming PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2007, 03:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Default Upgrading to get a DECENT Gaming PC

Well I'm looking to add on to my PCso what should I get?

I know I should tell you the specs but which specs shall I tell you?

Thanks :beard:
__________________

Va1con is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 04:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 413
Default

processor - intel? amd?
motherboard-
video card - agp? pci-e? ati? nvidia? which card is it?
memory(RAM) - amount of it, 128mb/256mb/512mb/1GB/2GB, dual or single channel?
__________________

Ksingler is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 05:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Tell us all of your specs... By that, I mean the models/makes of each and every part inside your case.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 12:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Well:

Processor - AMD Athlon 64 Processor 3000+
Motherboard- I dont know TBH
Video Card - NVIDIA GeForce 7600GS 256MB
Memory (RAM) - 512mb Dual Channel
Va1con is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 04:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 413
Default

Processor is just one down from mine, i have the 3200+ and it does just fine for me in games, i also have the 7600GS and that does fine for me too, but i play on medium settings cause im just more used to it. I'd say definitely get another stick of 512mb in there.
Ksingler is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 10:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 18
Default

The cpu looks fine for the moment. Definitely get some more ram. The next thing you might upgrade is your video card. How much money are you willing to spend?
600MHZ is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 11:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

More RAM would be needed, because Windows will take up about 60% of it, leaving not much less for gaming.

Your video card is fine, but a better one would be nice.
talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 12:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Don't use the two sticks of 256, get rid of them and get either 2X512 or idealy 2x1GB.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 09:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Well, I just got two 512MB but they dont seem to be working :S

So I'm looking into it to see the problem.

BTW 600MHZ I have just got the 7600GS and its works fine so I aint changing it.
__________________

Va1con is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.