Upgrading a eMachines - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2010, 10:46 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Omaha, NE USA
Posts: 54
Default Re: Upgrading a eMachines

Well I' am in a very limited budget right now so I need to save a little by little to upgrade the tower. Now I also found out that my power supply is a Micro ATX type and it's 150 watts. Here is a pic of what it says on the power supply.





Heres a pic of the actualy power supply.





Now someone said that the power supply is important but do you think I can add a PCI card like the GeForce 2 series or ATI Radeon 7200 or better on this machine? I can get some used parts from Ebay. Of cource if my PC will work for a ATI Radeon 9250 or GeForce FX series that would even be better.





But I' am still shocked that any PCI cards would be better than the AGP2X I have onboard. But will it forsure even the GeForce 2 Series be better than the onboard chip I have??
__________________

Dustin_Broke is offline  
Old 05-15-2010, 11:15 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 370
Default Re: Upgrading a eMachines

The RAM upgrade alone will probably run at least $50 if you can even find new, reliable RAM for it. It's so old, it's not widely available. I don't get the affinity for ancient technology. Any money spent on that system is money wasted. None of the upgrades can be used on a new computer. You can buy a brand new Dell desktop for less than $300 that would be hundreds of times more powerful.
__________________

DoubleHelix is offline  
Old 05-15-2010, 11:27 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Omaha, NE USA
Posts: 54
Default Re: Upgrading a eMachines

Well yes for to max the ram to 512mb it will be close to $50. I can get an OEM ram for $25 each stick that has 256mb. About the money to get at least $300 is not going to work since that will take a long time. I can only upgrade the current PC to it's best since I can buy little by little the parts for it. Also as I said I want to keep this since this was a gift and I liked it alot. I remember my dad paid around $450 and he could of got me the T1090 instead but he wanted me to have something that was at least 1 ghz speed since all my other older PCs back then were like 700mhz or less. Basicaly this was my first PC that had Windows XP and he did get it right when Windows XP came out. The T1090 was like mine but had a 900mhz processor and it also had Windows XP on it but it was cheaper like around $400 or maybe less. I think my dad might of gotten a good deal for my T1100 machine for $400 since his good at finding good deals. So probley the T1090 machine you could of gotten it for less then $400. At least he was nice to get me something that was 1 ghz instead of 900mhz like the T1090.

But if I can add a video card and more ram probley that would make a huge difference.
Dustin_Broke is offline  
Old 05-15-2010, 11:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 82
Default Re: Upgrading a eMachines

I believe that you should just buy a cheap new computer or maybe one that is a couple of years old on cragslist or something. I had an emachine that was only like 4 years old and it was going to be so unreasonable to upgrade it and it even had a PCIE slot. Old tech is just a money pit where you get nothing our of it. This is why I chucked that old emachine to the back of the closet and just dropped 1600 on a new gaming rig and it was an excellent choice. I suggest saving up and getting something new even if you have to wait a couple of months for the money.
__________________
Antec 300 Case
OCZ 600W GameXStream PSU
MSI NF750-G55 MB
Phenom II X3 720 3.6GHz
Patriot Warp 64GB SSD
2 x 2GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
2x GTX 260's for SLI
WIndows 7 32 bit
blasterfreak88 is offline  
Old 05-15-2010, 11:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Upgrading a eMachines

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin_Broke View Post
Well I' am in a very limited budget right now so I need to save a little by little to upgrade the tower. Now I also found out that my power supply is a Micro ATX type and it's 150 watts. Here is a pic of what it says on the power supply.





Heres a pic of the actualy power supply.





Now someone said that the power supply is important but do you think I can add a PCI card like the GeForce 2 series or ATI Radeon 7200 or better on this machine? I can get some used parts from Ebay. Of cource if my PC will work for a ATI Radeon 9250 or GeForce FX series that would even be better.





But I' am still shocked that any PCI cards would be better than the AGP2X I have onboard. But will it forsure even the GeForce 2 Series be better than the onboard chip I have??
You can add any PCI based GPU to that system, but the thing is, power. You'll also be bottle necked by the CPU. Not all PCI cards will be faster, but most will, I believe. That little power supply will have to be upgraded. What are the general uses of the computer? What are your intentions for this upgrade?
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 09:56 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Upgrading a eMachines

the power supply can power up to 4A on the +12V Rail, which is 48W
Options will be extremely limited.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 11:39 AM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Omaha, NE USA
Posts: 54
Default Re: Upgrading a eMachines

If it's only 48 watts why does it say 150 watts max power?


I use my computer to play older games like UT 2004, The Sims, Quake 3 Arena etc. Also I browse the internet and watch Youtube and listen to my music using Windows Media Player. I also use iTunes to sync music to my iPod. I usualy install the older version of iTunes since the newer ones need a better machine. Most softwares I installed are older since the newer ones need a better machine.


But would you say the GeForce 2 series or ATI Radeon 7000 series is better than the AGP2X card I have? Since I remember you guys said some PCI cards are better than my AGP2X onboard card but I was wondering if you were talking about the higher end ones like GeForce FX series or better.

Maybe the GeForce 2 series or so is not as good as my onboard AGP graphic chip I don't know.
Dustin_Broke is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 12:12 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Upgrading a eMachines

48 watts is how much it can supply at +12V
Most of the power the video card gets is from the +12V rail
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 12:25 PM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Omaha, NE USA
Posts: 54
Default Re: Upgrading a eMachines

Well you guys did say that some PCI video cards would be better than mine but what card will that be? Also will it work somehow on the power supply I have? If not I do see a power supply for around $20 that is a 200 watt on Ebay but will that at least somehow work?
Dustin_Broke is offline  
Old 05-16-2010, 12:36 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Upgrading a eMachines

If you truely value this PC then you should leave it as close to it's original specifications as possible. Collectors items are always more valuable when there all original equipment. And you should only power it up once or twice a month and keep it clean. Most of the parts from back then were rated for about 10 years of use with optimal conditions. Your in an uphill battle that's costing more than the replacement parts are worth.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Emachines w3650 Upgrading. ghostrange System Upgrades 12 12-05-2009 09:25 PM
Upgrading a HP Pavilion A1440N - Graphics Card/PSU. Spikey00 System Upgrades 2 12-24-2008 07:45 PM
upgrading emachines 3609 mdelgado System Upgrades 10 12-16-2008 05:08 PM
Possibly upgrading my computer Jason_B New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-20-2008 01:50 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.