Upgrading a Dell Optiplex gx270 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2011, 09:40 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Inland Pacific NW
Posts: 35
Default Re: Upgrading a Dell Optiplex gx270

Good! We brought some people with knowledge ot of the woodwork!
There you have it, y2adre, info you can use to make your decision.
Ultimately, it sounds like little brother will be the one who uses it. Linux is free the software is free. Forego the video card for now. Upgrade your RAM to at least a gig. What is the bottom line? Not a whole lot and . . .
less with Linux than with Windoze (no need for anitivirus, anti-malware, anti-spybot and very little danger of getting hacked on that ancient machine)! No one can mess with Free Choice, as I just messed with egos in order to see what this forum offers.

in the long run, if you choose linux, you will be way ahead of everyone here, including myself. Go for it!
Good job, gentlemen and lady!
It was fun and I hope the OP responds and closes this thing (LOL).

chamaecyparis is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 08:30 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
MindoverMaster's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Upgrading a Dell Optiplex gx270

Originally Posted by chamaecyparis View Post
ATI does not play well with Linux!
False. My EeeBox EB1006 has an ATI Radeon HD 4530 in it, and I am running Ubuntu, no problem

Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 02:33 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Inland Pacific NW
Posts: 35
Default Re: Upgrading a Dell Optiplex gx270


You are out of context here. But believe what you wish!

Besides, the point is moot.

Best wishes!
chamaecyparis is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 07:29 AM   #14 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,799
Default Re: Upgrading a Dell Optiplex gx270

It is fairly broadly accepted that Linux "prefers" nvidia over ATI. That's not to say that it won't work at all.


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will PQI Brand Turbo 1GB PC2 5400 DDR SDRAM modules work w/ Dell Optiplex GX270? mrspendnot System Upgrades 3 11-27-2007 06:36 PM
Dell GX270 Power Supply Upgrade chris3721 System Upgrades 8 04-29-2007 03:19 AM
Dell OptiPlex GX270 Problems Lord Joshly Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-22-2006 10:22 AM
Dell optiplex GX150 help with upgrading supra94 System Upgrades 5 10-15-2005 06:27 AM
Dell Optiplex alyson Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-20-2004 10:18 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.