Upgrading Dell Inspiron 530 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2008, 12:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Question Upgrading Dell Inspiron 530

OK Here's my specs so far on this machine. List is kinda long

Disk Drives
2.0.1.1 Drive Label C:
2.0.1.2 File System NTFS
2.0.1.3 Size 100 GB
2.0.1.4 Free Space 74 GB
2.0.1.5 Description Local Fixed Disk
2.0.2.1 Drive Label D:
2.0.2.2 File System NTFS
2.0.2.3 Size 356 GB
2.0.2.4 Free Space 315 GB
2.0.2.5 Description Local Fixed Disk
2.0.3.1 Drive Label E:
2.0.3.2 File System NTFS
2.0.3.3 Size 10 GB
2.0.3.4 Free Space 6 GB
2.0.3.5 Description Local Fixed Disk
2.0.4.1 Drive Label F:
2.0.4.2 File System -
2.0.4.3 Size -
2.0.4.4 Free Space -
2.0.4.5 Description CD-ROM Disc
2.0.5.1 Drive Label G:
2.0.5.2 File System -
2.0.5.3 Size -
2.0.5.4 Free Space -
2.0.5.5 Description Removable Disk
2.0.6.1 Drive Label H:
2.0.6.2 File System -
2.0.6.3 Size -
2.0.6.4 Free Space -
2.0.6.5 Description Removable Disk
2.0.7.1 Drive Label I:
2.0.7.2 File System -
2.0.7.3 Size -
2.0.7.4 Free Space -
2.0.7.5 Description Removable Disk
2.0.8.1 Drive Label J:
2.0.8.2 File System -
2.0.8.3 Size -
2.0.8.4 Free Space -
2.0.8.5 Description Removable Disk

Memory
1.6 Memory Information (as of Monday, October 13, 2008, 3:34:51 PM)
1.6.1 Total Physical RAM Installed 2 GB
1.6.2 RAM Currently Used 100.00%
1.6.3 Maximum Supported 4 GB
1.6.4 RAM Chip 1 1024 MB DDR2-SDRAM (PC2-5300 / 667 MHz)
1.6.5 RAM Chip 2 1024 MB DDR2-SDRAM (PC2-5300 / 667 MHz)
1.6.6 RAM Chip 3 Not Installed
1.6.7 RAM Chip 4 Not Installed

Processor

6.0 Processor(s)
6.0.1.1 ID CPU0
6.0.1.2 Description Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E4500 @ 2.20GHz
6.0.1.3 Level 6
6.0.1.4 Revision 3853

I want to get into casual gaming on this computer. Now I know I need a new PSU to support a video card, my current PSU is only 300W. This is PSU I'm looking to get.
Amazon.com: PC Power and Cooling PPCS500D Silencer 500 Dell 12V 80+ Certified Power Supply: Electronics
Its made for dell systems, that will give me the power to run a card. Now my question is, is my processor enough to handle games like Counter Strike Source? (that's really all I play). Remember this is a stock dell system so no chance of overclocking that CPU. Also could someone point me into the right direction for video cards that will work/fit into my system? I looking to put another Gig of ram in there by the end of the week to max out a 32bit vista install.

Thanks
__________________

Digital Felon is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 12:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Upgrading Dell Inspiron 530

What videocard are you getting?? For counterstrike source a laptop can play at near high settings its not a demanding game
That psu will be fine should have enough power no matter what vid card you choose. Your processor will be fine as well it may bottleneck some of the nvidia 9/8800** but you won't need that good of card to play CSS
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 12:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: Upgrading Dell Inspiron 530

could u give me some suggestions for a card? btw what psu are talking about would be ok my stock one or the upgrade?
Digital Felon is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 12:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Upgrading Dell Inspiron 530

The upgrade (500W) will power any single gpu solution. 8800gt 512mb should be cheap as chips and run CSS seemlesly it is fairly cheap especially second hand and would last you into your next pc which I hope would be built and save yourself some pennies.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 12:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: Upgrading Dell Inspiron 530

Thanks for the info. I would love to build my next computer,but I don't think I have the balls too lol. BTW I'm able run CS:S right now with my Intel integrated graphics card that 256 of on board memory. On that I can only play simple user created maps, nothing that Valve has made. So your right it probably won't take much of a card to run smoothly.
Digital Felon is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 12:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Upgrading Dell Inspiron 530

Its nigh impossible to break a pc by building one you essentially install 8 components the same as you would when installing a video card. Modern vid cards have a 6pin power cable which needs to come from the psu if you try and boot without the cable your motherboard will beep crazily which is a tad annoying.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 12:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: Upgrading Dell Inspiron 530

Well if that's the case I will look into building my next computer. Thanks alot man you have been so helpful.
Digital Felon is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 12:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: Upgrading Dell Inspiron 530

One more quick question, when I opened up my computer, there is a plug on the motherboard right underneath the PSU. What is that used for and will the PSU I'm getting have that same plug? I know it has the molex plugs and sata plugs and pciexpress plugs but I'm not sure about that one.
Digital Felon is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 01:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Upgrading Dell Inspiron 530

Is it a 4 pin or 8 pin design its the cpu power cable all psu's have them. There is also a large 24pin which is the motherboard power.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 10-15-2008, 01:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Default Re: Upgrading Dell Inspiron 530

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
Is it a 4 pin or 8 pin design its the cpu power cable all psu's have them. There is also a large 24pin which is the motherboard power.
Ya I knew about the motherboard power, I figured it was the cpu power since its right next to it lol. I just hope all of the plugs are labeled,this is my first time replacing a PSU.
__________________

Digital Felon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the Dell Inspiron 530 Motherboard Overclockable ? Katmandu Overclocking and Modding 3 05-31-2008 06:51 PM
Dell Inspiron 530 processor upgrade chrabar System Upgrades 7 05-11-2008 08:02 AM
Dell XPS 420 or Inspiron 530 samuelsteven New Systems | Building and Buying 1 02-17-2008 04:32 AM
Upgrading Power Supply on DELL - Curse them. Snoobies New Systems | Building and Buying 3 02-12-2008 12:18 AM
A newbie need help: upgrading from ancient dell PuluPulu New Systems | Building and Buying 8 08-11-2007 10:45 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.