Upgrading Dell 2400 GPU - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2010, 05:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Upgrading Dell 2400 GPU

I am trying to help out a family member upgrading her video card. She has a Dell 2400 which I assume has PCI slots. I have looked at a few cards like a Nvidia 8400GS. My concern is the PSU.

Would a Dell 2400 PSU be able to handle a card like that? Do all Dell 2400's have the same PSU? If they do, my dad has a Dell 2400 so I could look at his find out what it is.

The only thing she wants a video card for is she wants to play a card game and it will not play on intergrated graphics for whatever reason. It gives some kind of directx error, don't remember the exact error.
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 06:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Upgrading Dell 2400 GPU

Has she tried updating DirectX? She can try downloading the latest DirectX update here:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...a-9b6652cd92a3

If that doesn't work, most likely she'll need to upgrade the PSU to use an 8400GS. Power requirement is around 300W or more, and the 2400 has a 200-250W power supply.
__________________

b1gapl is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 06:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading Dell 2400 GPU

PCI slots only, either a 200W or 250W PSU.
Documentation

An 8400 requires a 350W PSU, minimum.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 06:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Upgrading Dell 2400 GPU

I have tried updating the video card driver and no luck.

What kind of card could I get without buying a new PSU?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 08:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Torrance ,California
Posts: 130
Default Re: Upgrading Dell 2400 GPU

if you buy a atx power supply for a dell you will need one of these adapters.
Adapter for Dell Power Supply

look at the graphics cards at newegg. under specs it usually lists the power supply requirements.

you should open that computer up first. or try googling the motherboard specs. from what i found the AGP slot was not installed on that computer ???
baih777 is offline  
Old 02-14-2010, 09:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Upgrading Dell 2400 GPU

Would a ATI 9250 work without buying a new PSU?

Do I have to buy a certain kind of PSU? I would imagine not just any PSU would work because of size, space needed. For example, I don't imagine a Corsair 850 watt would fit, it would barely fit in my case.

How much roughly would one cost and which one would you suggest?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 07:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Upgrading Dell 2400 GPU

Sorry for double posting since I can't edit my last post. Would a OCZ GameXStream 700 watt PSU work? If not, what kind would I need?
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 08:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Upgrading Dell 2400 GPU

the psu would just need to be an atx psu but that 700w would be overkill.

a good quality psu like this one
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-400CX 400W ATX12V V2.2 80 PLUS Certified Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies
would be good.

and i think you're going to need that adapter that baih777 posted.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 02-20-2010, 07:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Upgrading Dell 2400 GPU

Okay thanks. I know the 700 watt would be overkill but I have one that is just lying around so I thought I use that. I may consider the Corsair 400 watt.

Would I be able to get that adapter anywhere else like Newegg? I just don't like giving my information to another website unless I have too.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 02-20-2010, 10:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Torrance ,California
Posts: 130
Default Re: Upgrading Dell 2400 GPU

try using google to find out more on replacing your power supply. i got different pages saying some desktops use regular ATX and some just need to switch two wires and some have different voltage levels.
__________________

baih777 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What do y'all recommend in a new Dell computer for gaming? Mazer18 System Upgrades 14 08-02-2009 04:05 AM
Upgrading Dell E1505 suppafreak Laptops and Notebooks 12 06-13-2009 06:38 AM
IDE RAID for Dell DImension 2400 sw_freak64 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-23-2007 12:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.