Upgrading DDR Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2009, 07:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Default Upgrading DDR Ram

Hey all, I recently posted about upgrading my ram and video card, I have since opened up my computer and realized I have 2 SDRAM slots and 2 DDR slots for ram, I thought when looking up the facts on my motherboard that I had 4 SDRAM slots and almost bought new SDRAM when now I realize I just need DDR ram, this is a picture of what the slots look like, the black ones are my SDRAM and DDR is in red http://2xod.com/articles/SDRAM%20vs%...M%20Keying.jpg now what kind of ram should I buy for my computer?! I want to get it of NCIX.com but I'm unsure of what to buy, my friend can get anything through them and wants to grab some for me but I want to know exactly what I should buy, both SDRAM slots are being used so I just need the DDR, please help, muchly appreciated. Also, I am getting either a 256mb or 512 mb video card and wanted to know if I need to upgrade my power supply or anything to be able to run more ram and the video card. And I know alot of you may say I just need a better computer but I have very little money so this is the best I can do for now, thank you all!
__________________

Kemperz is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 07:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iceyc0ld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 410
Default Re: Upgrading DDR Ram

What's your PSU wattage? And what type of video card slots do you have on you motherboard? EDIT - Oh and 1 more thing almost forgot xD what's your budget?

Sorry couldn't help on the ram problem don't know, much.
__________________

iceyc0ld is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 07:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: Upgrading DDR Ram

hey sorry, i don't know what kind of power supply I have, how could I find that out? and it's an brown AGP slot I have, so i would imagine AGP 8x, and for a little more info i have a amd athlon 1700 XP

Motherboard Name PCChips M825ULR
Motherboard Chipset VIA VT8375 ProSavageDDR KM266

thanks!
Kemperz is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 07:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iceyc0ld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 410
Default Re: Upgrading DDR Ram

Hmm well what's the model of your computer and who makes it, dell, HP etc.. What do you expect to do with these upgrades gaming?.. Working?
iceyc0ld is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 08:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 18
Default Re: Upgrading DDR Ram

Hey I posted my PC specs, I had wanted the upgrades for gaming mostly, but I just took apart my computer again and realized I only have AGP 4x, and everest says my agp is 4x or 6x or somehting, and the as far as I know the graphics cards for AGP 4x are like 64mb and stuff and just not upto what I need for games, I'm really really disapointed because I had really wanted to upgrade to be able to play even some of the older games out there I love, like GTA san andreas and some of the need for speed series, but it looks like I'm basically out of luck, because I take it you can't use a AGP 8x in a 4x slot, im really disappointed, I need a better computer but I just simply can't afford a newer one, even used, I'll just have to save my pennies I suppose, or hope for santa, he does exist right?!
Kemperz is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 08:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iceyc0ld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 410
Default Re: Upgrading DDR Ram

Lol I was put in that situation also I had a slimline and 85% of the cards didn't fit on my case. Try and save up for a new build atleast u can lol I am waaaaaaaaaaay too young for that trust me.

EDIT - if you were to save a bit how much you think you can accumulate, about $500 makes a good build also $600.
iceyc0ld is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 11:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Upgrading DDR Ram

use this

Memory upgrades from Crucial.com - About Crucial:Media Toolbox

and i think that 8x agp cards are backwards compatible so you should be able to use those cards. what is your budget for a new card?
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is faster RAM really worth the extra cash ? Osiris System Upgrades 1 04-16-2008 05:08 PM
Upgrading RAM mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-16-2008 05:57 AM
upgrading ram krap928 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 12-04-2007 12:07 PM
Thinking of Upgrading video card or RAM info? Chrizah New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-30-2007 12:54 PM
Upgrading RAM help!!! dingledow New Systems | Building and Buying 5 09-08-2007 07:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.