Upgrading CPU. AM2+ not compatible with AM3? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2011, 11:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 8
Default Re: Upgrading CPU. AM2+ not compatible with AM3?

ahhhh....did i screw up by getting the wrong model#?

the one i bought is #HDZ955FBGMBOX, but that model isnt on this page of cpu's ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Motherboards- ASUS M3A78-T

I messed up, didnt i?
__________________

Dark Fader is offline  
Old 06-18-2011, 11:17 PM   #12 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading CPU. AM2+ not compatible with AM3?

No, you should be good. Model HDX955WFK4DGM is an OEM processor. You bought the retail box which is a HDZ955FBK4DGM and a stock heatsink/fan.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 02:37 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 8
Default Re: Upgrading CPU. AM2+ not compatible with AM3?

Thanks, Trotter!
I am really anxious about this purchase, and the games i will be able to play now.

Any advice as far as changing out the CPU?
I imagine it's as easy as taking the old out and putting in the new...i do know that i must try and not electrostatic discharge ruin the chip, but i don't think i have any control over that being that i don't have an ESD controlled area, hahaa.

maybe i should wear latex gloves or something.

just an off-shoot question, but post install, is there anything i should do with WinXP? Change any settings? or format HD?
any reccomendations from someone who has done this before?

Thanks again for the helpful info, Trotter...so glad i didn't blow $150 on a proc that wouldn't be compatible
Dark Fader is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 10:05 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Upgrading CPU. AM2+ not compatible with AM3?

Just ground yourself before picking up the cpu. Grab a metal part of your case and then pick up the cpu. Once you have the cpu in hand you can let go of the case. If you set the cpu down again you need to ground yourself again before picking it back up.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-19-2011, 01:43 PM   #15 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading CPU. AM2+ not compatible with AM3?

Latex gloves are a good idea to prevent oil from your skin from getting on the surface of the CPU. Try not to touch anything but the very edge of the CPU if at all possible. I always clean mine with alcohol right before I mount the cooler just to make sure that it is perfectly clean.

Once you install the new CPU and boot Windows will probably install drivers for it and have you reboot. This is completely normal. Once it does that (if it even does) everything is finished.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 06-20-2011, 05:59 AM   #16 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Upgrading CPU. AM2+ not compatible with AM3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Latex gloves are a good idea to prevent oil from your skin from getting on the surface of the CPU. Try not to touch anything but the very edge of the CPU if at all possible. I always clean mine with alcohol right before I mount the cooler just to make sure that it is perfectly clean.

Once you install the new CPU and boot Windows will probably install drivers for it and have you reboot. This is completely normal. Once it does that (if it even does) everything is finished.
I do the same by cleaning it before I put the cooler on. I use a clean shammy just a bit damp with Isopropyl and wipe down the surface before putting the cooler on.

Sounds like your gonna have fun, good luck bud!
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 06-25-2011, 03:43 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 8
Default Re: Upgrading CPU. AM2+ not compatible with AM3?

Thanks to Abstract Hero, Trotter and Slaymate...
The CPU install was a successful one. I notice a hike in performance as well, games are playing smoother.

I appreciate the help and the prep involved.

So, i think i am going to upgrade my vid card next...any recommendations would be helpful. The only spec i look at is vid memory,,,hahaa.
I currently have a Nvidia GeForce 9800GT (512mb)...I want something fast and atleast 1024mb vid memory, around the $150-$300 price range.

What other specs should i look into when shopping for one, and should i consider ATI Radeon instead of nvidia?

Once again thanks for the help on the CPU, i am happy with it!

*edit - oh yeah, im running a DVI connection to my LCD monitor (60hz refresh rate, or course), 1680x1050 resolution, i forget the actual screen size...if this helps with suggestions.
Dark Fader is offline  
Old 06-25-2011, 09:57 AM   #18 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading CPU. AM2+ not compatible with AM3?

Newegg.com - ASUS ENGTX560 TI DCII TOP/2DI/1GD5 GeForce GTX 560 Ti (Fermi) 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Support Video Card

Currently on sale and has a $20 rebate.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-10-2011, 03:40 AM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4
Default

mw3 and bf3 are losing xp and dx9 support in favor of vist/7 and dx10/11. this soon going to be the trend
__________________

wraith1213 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
would this be compatible Compguys New Systems | Building and Buying 8 07-12-2007 07:20 AM
Are all these compatible? Crazydog115 System Upgrades 3 08-03-2006 12:01 AM
DFI Compatible Pepsiboy700 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 08-30-2005 09:24 AM
Is This all compatible?? DoomPotts Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 06-29-2004 03:35 PM
Compatible? Bubnod Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 06-28-2004 04:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.