Upgrading components in HP dv5230us - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2007, 04:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 14
Default Upgrading components in HP dv5230us

Hello all,

First I would like to thank those of you that respond to posts such as these. I have visited many forums in the past, and by far this one is the best.

Now, on to my question:

I recently recieved an HP dv5230us laptop over the holidays, and was wondering if the graphics capabilities on it can be upgraded. The components in the laptop are as follows:

15.4" brightview TFT, Intel Core Duo 1.66GHz, Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 950 (128mb), 120GB hd, 1.5gb RAM, DVD+-RW.

So, in short, I am asking if it is possible to switch from the integrated intel 950 to something else (ATI or NVIDIA ?).

Thanks in advance.

-deimos1090
__________________

deimos1090 is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 08:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

If Its a laptop i no you will find it dificult to upgrade. But wether it can be done im not sure. Im sure some other people on here will resolve your issue quickly. Thanks.

But to be honest ive cant remember of hearing about upgrading laptops.
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 09:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks for your response!

From what I have gathered so far, If the laptop came with a dedicated card already preinstalled, then it would not be possible to upgrade the GPU.

But since the laptop has integrated video, would that allow for a dedicated memory card to be put in?
deimos1090 is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 10:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

Integrated video means that the video is put out directly through the motherboard. A dedicated card would be the case that you could upgrade, by getting a better dedicated card. It all depends on if the motherboard has an expansion slot for a graphics card or not, if it's an HP and has onboard, I'm willing to bet against the possibility of upgrading but I'm no expert on laptops. I'll try looking up the laptop itself and see if I can help you out anymore after that.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 10:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
cichlidkeeper91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 210
Default

One reason why I hate HP's are because if you want to buy any parts for it, it has to be HP parts. Not any other kind. Like with a gateway, if you wanted to buy an extra hard to put into the computer it doesn't have to be the gateway hard drive, it can be any hard drive that fits. But on an HP it has to be exactly the HP hard drive. So good luck with the upgrade.
cichlidkeeper91 is offline  
Old 01-02-2007, 10:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default

There's no such thing as a "Gate way hard drive". An HP would accept any sort of hard drive, as would any system, be it even a dell. You're gonna have that problem with just about any prebuilt. I wouldn't even say the problem with it is so much that it's an HP but that it's a laptop. Laptops are usually built with one thing in mind and that why you get what you want put in them when you order one. There usually is never much room for upgrade when dealing with those. Also, I looked at the motherboard on that and I couldn't find a slot listing or anything but I'm pretty sure there's no slot for video upgrading from what I read, Unless someone finds the schematics and proves me wrong.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 06:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 14
Default

So no upgrade internally? Well that sucks.

I'm going to go on a limb here and ask, does anyone know of some kind of external solution? Maybe cardbus or expresscard?
deimos1090 is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 06:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

I really don't know of any external video cards or cardbus video cards that would work. When it comes to laptops, you're pretty much limited to upgrading (internally, anyways) the hard drive, RAM, and (sometimes) processor.

By the way - manufacturers do NOT use proprietary RAM or HDs.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.