Upgrading Compaq Presario... Need help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2012, 10:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
TheRoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eastern USA
Posts: 29
Default Upgrading Compaq Presario... Need help!

You could have guessed by the title, I'm not one for knowing the details of computers.

The Dilemma:
I'm going to be getting a "lump sum" of money here in about 8 days, and I will use $450.00 for upgrading my desktop.
I have the basic specs of my computer that I managed to gather from "dxdiag". I need to know exactly what Video Card, Processor, RAM, and Power Supply (if needed) I can get. I'm aware that I can't just go out and choose any old Video Card or Processor, that's why I ask all of you.

Some Known Facts:
1. I DO have a PCI Express slot for an upgraded video card. I'm not sure exactly what TYPE of PCI Express it is, but I'm sure that I have one.
2. I need my computer to be able to play higher-end games such as Battlefield 3, Call of Duty, high graphic Java games, etc. I don't mind if I can't play them in "max graphics" mode, Just as long as I can play them with playable Frames Per Second.

My Computer Specs:
Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_gdr.110622-1503)
Motherboard Chipset: NVIDIA nForce MCP61P Chipset
System Manufacturer: Compaq-Presario
System Model: AY026AA-ABA CQ5300F
BIOS: Phoenix - AwardBIOS v6.00PG
Processor: AMD Sempron(tm) Processor LE-1300, ~2.3GHz
Memory: 2048MB RAM
Available OS Memory: 1918MB RAM
DirectX Version: DirectX 11

tl;dr
With the above specs, and a $450.00 limit, exactly which type of RAM, Video Card, Processor, and Power Supply (if needed) can I get?
__________________

TheRoo is offline  
Old 01-19-2012, 11:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Upgrading Compaq Presario... Need help!

Quote:
Motherboard supports the following processor upgrades:
NOTE:Only socket AM2+ processors are supported with this motherboard.

AMD Phenom II Quad-Core
AMD Phenom II Triple-Core
AMD Phenom Quad-Core (A) 9xxx series (AM2+)
AMD Phenom Triple-Core (T) 8xxx series (AM2+)
AMD Athlon X4
AMD Athlon X3
AMD Athlon X2 (B) (AM2+)
Quote:
Two DDR2 DIMM (240-pin) sockets
Supported DIMM types:

PC2-5300 (667 MHz)
PC2-6400 (800 MHz)
Max of 4GB (2 x 2GB)

You have a 250W power supply.

Try these:

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon II X4 645 Propus 3.1GHz Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processor ADX645WFGMBOX

Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-4GBNT

Newegg.com - MSI R6870 Hawk Radeon HD 6870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity

Newegg.com - Antec NEO ECO 620C 620W Continuous Power ATX12V v2.3 / EPS12V 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-20-2012, 12:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
TheRoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eastern USA
Posts: 29
Default Re: Upgrading Compaq Presario... Need help!

Fantastic! Thank you so much for the fast reply, and detailed response!

However I have one question...
That video card you listed above, it's PCI Express 2.1.

My computer supports that? Are you sure?
I know I have a PCI Express slot, however I wasn't sure it was 2.1.


I will be ordering all 4 of these products in 7-8 days... I just need to be re-assured that these are all compatible with my current (stock) rig.
TheRoo is offline  
Old 01-20-2012, 12:43 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: Upgrading Compaq Presario... Need help!

What i dont understand i thought The Athlon II X4 645 is am3 socket but the motherboard is an AM2+ Socket. Newegg.com - Computer Hardware, CPUs / Processors, Processors - Desktops, AMD, 3.0GHz, 3.4GHz, 3.6GHz, Quad-Core, Phenom II X4, 3.5GHz, 3.7GHz it has a 10 percent off code for those phenom x 4, if the motherboard supports am3
Talyor is offline  
Old 01-20-2012, 12:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
TheRoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eastern USA
Posts: 29
Default Re: Upgrading Compaq Presario... Need help!

-double post-
TheRoo is offline  
Old 01-20-2012, 01:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
TheRoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Eastern USA
Posts: 29
Default Re: Upgrading Compaq Presario... Need help!

I just noticed the video card that Trot mentioned is 1.5" thick. It will not fit. Im looking in my desktop right now, and the thickness of the video card will get in the way of the RAM.
Any other ideas on a video card, and any way of clearing up my confusion about the processor? lol

I found this video card on NewEgg... Is it compatible with my rig?
I think it may fit...
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...scrollFullInfo
TheRoo is offline  
Old 01-20-2012, 09:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Talyor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 336
Default Re: Upgrading Compaq Presario... Need help!

Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100328L Radeon HD 6770 1GB GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

or

Newegg.com - ASUS EAH6670/DIS/1GD5 Radeon HD 6670 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card
__________________

Talyor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suggestions Upgrading a Compaq Presario SR1910NX netrace System Upgrades 1 06-25-2007 11:44 PM
Advice On Upgrading a Compaq Presario Tisoraku System Upgrades 6 09-01-2006 02:48 PM
upgrading compaq presario 2100 laptop cpu mothergoose System Upgrades 7 07-26-2006 08:56 PM
Upgrading my compaq presario 5410us midnightsky System Upgrades 4 08-24-2005 12:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.