upgrading compaq presario 2100 laptop cpu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2006, 06:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Default upgrading compaq presario 2100 laptop cpu

Well i have a compaq presario 2100 laptop with a 1.6 ghz mobile intel celeron processor in it and i would like to change it to a 2.4 ghz. But when looking at the specs of the two processors i found that the step is different betweent he two. does this matter? The 1.6 ghz is a c1 step and the 2.4 is a d1 step. Is the 2.4 compatible with my motherboard? also i noticed that the thermal power was 5 watts more. this means it will just run little hotter correct? other than those two things everything else is the same. Will it work?

thanks in advance,
Mg
__________________

mothergoose is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 07:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

You cannot upgrade the CPU in your laptop. Sorry.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 07:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Default

actually i just took my whole laptop apart and took the cpu out soo i dont see why not.
mothergoose is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 07:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

The laptop is designed to cool the 1.8ghz processor. A 2.4ghz processor produces a lot more heat, and will cause problems.

If you feel like getting a new one, and having your laptop melt and catch on fire, then be my guest.

Whether or not you can take the CPU out, I don't advise that you upgrade the CPU in your laptop.
The General is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 07:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Default

ah i see what your talking about. i had also thought about that, but i was thinking about making a better heatsink. the way they made this thing doesnt look like it doesnt work to well. i was also thinking of putting an extra fan into the floppy port wich has nothing in it to give it a bit better cooling. but as far as the stepping diference would it work?
mothergoose is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 07:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Default

also i was thinking about lowering the voltages in the bios to git it cooler.
mothergoose is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 07:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

The stepping difference shouldnt matter, If you want you can put the CPU in and jsut boot it up real quick to see if it works, then maybe get some AS5 or something, that fan might help but I don't know about a fan that would fit in there.
The General is offline  
Old 07-26-2006, 08:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Default

i was looking at some pci slot fans that i thought might fit. and i have acsess to a cnc machine so i think i might try and make a good heatsink for it.
__________________

mothergoose is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.