upgrading comp need grafix card motherboard and cpu - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2005, 05:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default upgrading comp need grafix card motherboard and cpu

hi guys i just aquired 600 pound and want to upgrade my computer im after a mb grafix card , cpu,and ram im gona be buying from this site
http://www.scan.co.uk/

is it possible someone could have a look on ere and build me a system with this budget as i dont have a clue what would be the best to go for
i do quite a bit of gaming and would like somthing that can let me play joint ops,thanks in advance mlr
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 07:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Do you plan to overclock? and will you be keeping your old case and power supply?

also if your from the UK scan are good but theres others if you`d like to shop around such as:

www.overclockers.co.uk
www.tekheads.co.uk
www.techfever.co.uk

mobo:
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=298780
OR
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=161701

CPU:
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=217038

graphics card:
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=251716

RAM:
http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/Produ...oductID=217959

Total:
£571.17

It was a quick rush :P im sure someone else could do better I would have liked to have thrown in a CPU AMD dual core x2 3800 but would have taken you over budget.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 08:21 AM   #3 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

it would be nice to beable to overclock and yes i already have a psu i have the 500 watt ultra connect power supply,also would i realy need 2 gb ram would 1gb not be better, and maybe spend a little more on the cpu,ill have a look around on the other sites you gave me and see what i can come up with thanks for quick reply
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 08:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

ok if you want to overclock in the future probably best getting your RAM from somewere else than scan they dont have the best selection try www.overclockers.co.uk and OCZ or g skill ram.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 09:00 AM   #5 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default

ram
OCZ 1GB (2 x 512MB) PC3200 Dual Channel Gold Series BH5 EL-DDR CAS2.0 (MY-054-OC)
£126
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...ce_Series.html

cpu
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 3800+ (Socket 939) - Retail (ADA3800BVBOX) (CP-134-AM)
£240
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatalog/AMD_64_X2.html

motherboard
Abit AN8 Ultra nForce4 Ultra (Socket 939) PCI-Express Motherboard (MB-074-AB)
£88.07
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...ocket_939.html

graphics
Leadtek WinFast GeForce 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 TV-Out/Dual DVI (PCI-Express) - Retail (GX-049-LT)
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/acatal...CI_Series.html
£187.94

total £642
ok this is what ive come up with let me know what you think i know ive gone other a little but
im sure i could scrape up another 44 pound
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core 4800
at 2.76 ghz
dfi lanparty expert
PCI-E *Extreme Edition* GF7800GT *524 Core 1250Ghz Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1 Gig DDR 500 PC4000
20\" DELL Ultrasharp 2005FPW Midnight Grey Widescreen LCD Monitor
wdc wd5000 akas-aatmao ata
wd 2500jb external
pioneer dvr 108
lg gdr8161b dvd rom

\"640K ought to be enough for anybody.\" - Bill Gates, 1981[/size]
mlr is offline  
Old 11-26-2005, 01:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

yeah looks good although id only buy the RAM from overclockers and the rest from scan try to find the best price. Also you could go for the 7800GT graphics card and a AMD 3200+ CPU. Although I like what you`ve chose I would have gotten the dual core also as the 6800GT is a great card and if you do lots of other things dual core will have more overall benifit.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.