upgrading on a budget - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2006, 02:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default upgrading on a budget

hi i am interested in upgrading my pc for gaming and photoshop type work

I am from the uk but i put my buget into a currency converter and i have about $480 (£260) to spend on a new pc

I want to upgrade my cpu, RAM, motherboard and my psu (my other components are fine)

I would preffer to go amd rather than intel

please could you give me a good upgrade route...
__________________

TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 03:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Slightly more expensive, but worth it...

Barebones kit
http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...bb-a37615b&P=1 - 181.81

Video Card
http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s....html?BFG-76GS - 72.00

RAM
http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...tml?RAM-40/512 - 25.00
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 03:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

hmm i only want cpu ram mobo psu
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 03:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

well... what type of video card do you have? depending on how old it is , it might do well to upgrade it... it is AGP (4x or 8x) or PCIE?
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 02:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Default

it is agp (nvidia 6200) but i don't wanna upgrade that cos i only got it in march
__________________
<img src=http://img3.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/b4b225c12f.png border=0 alt="Free Image Hosting"></a>
TimBlanchard is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 03:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 325
Default

im not familiar with prices over there but try a thermaltakeor antec psu
and if u want to do ocing go for an msi mobo
if not then gigabyte
also an athlon 3500+ should be okay
and 1gb of corsair select has served me well
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+
GigaByte GA K8N-SLI
1GB Corsair Select Value
GigaByte 7300GS
80GB maxtor Hard Disk
Samsung Writemaster DVD-RWDL 16x
Thermaltake mambo case w/ 430 PSU
Windows XP Pro
17\" Proview LCD
mophead740 is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 04:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

that agp video card is gonna limit what you can get.

because of the agp card, you will have to stick to socket 939 or earlier, and because of that, you'll have to stick with DDR ram and not DDR2 ram...

i can show you how you can get a new video card and still be able to get quality parts with that budget...

http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/111285/rb/20376392614

http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/110732

http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/63626

http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/101478

http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/90615

thats $308.75 total INCLUDING VAT.

don't let the video card limit ALL your components...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 04:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,302
Default

Nice combo, aliasaid... even if it is an ATI.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-12-2006, 04:38 AM   #9 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Barebones kit
http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...l?bb-a8vmx&P=1 - 191.65

RAM
http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...tml?RAM-40/512 - 25.00

and later on you can upgrade the PSU/video card... Generic PSU's in general stink, but you won't be pulling that much juice...

or you could throw this in for an extra 42.00

http://www.novatech.co.uk/novatech/s...html?ENE-EL400

That's 258.00 total.
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.