Upgrading both my systems - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2014, 08:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Upgrading both my systems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dauntae View Post
I personally LOVE Asus BUT there RMA dept. is pretty bad and difficult to deal with. Most things if faulty will go in the first month of use so stores like newegg.com give you 30 days for a RMA and after that you deal with the company. I'll go with ASUS on anything but the video card because that is the one item that get the most abuse with heat and functioning fans. EVGA has the best service with RMA and I'm now trying out MSI for video cards, My second one and have not had to RMA yet LOL. I only had to RMA ASUS to thecompany once and holy crap did I spend a LONG time on the phone with multiple phone calls and finally got a RMA number and they sent the same board back repaired. Not a new board.

Dauntae
Drogos kept getting repaired 780ti. I think 4? I've had to deal with them on several occasions and it wasn't any better as a reviewer. Actually worse, because they thought they were doing YOU a favor by sending a board to the site. MSI actually treated me the same way. I've owned hardware from almost all the companies out there and I have my few I pick because of the experience with each company.

eVGA and Corsair pretty much are the best companies to deal with in the PC world.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 01:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default Re: Upgrading both my systems

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
eVGA and Corsair pretty much are the best companies to deal with in the PC world.
How is eVGA's quality compared to ASUS? Do they see more failures? Its nice to have good CS when a failure occurs. But I would rather not have the failure. I won't put anything but a Corsair PSU in my builds. After failures with a couple other brands, all my Corsairs are still running. A couple of them are over 4 years old.
__________________

Brew_WY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 02:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Upgrading both my systems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brew_WY View Post
How is eVGA's quality compared to ASUS? Do they see more failures? Its nice to have good CS when a failure occurs. But I would rather not have the failure. I won't put anything but a Corsair PSU in my builds. After failures with a couple other brands, all my Corsairs are still running. A couple of them are over 4 years old.
I put eVGA in quality over Asus and keep their cards in ALL of my builds. If something I want is out of stock, I wait for eVGA to replenish stock. However, I do not say the same for their boards.

Corsair doesn't make PSUs, in case you didn't know, but their OEMs are damn good. My Thermaltake has been running strong since 2008 but my next PSU (if I ever need one) is going to be Seasonic. In the PSU world a good quality unit will last you the better part of a decade if not more if it gets clean power. However, any GPU can die at any given time for whatever reason sadly. You could have a Zotac or ECS card last for decades but an eVGA or other name brand could fail on you. My experience has taught me GPUs are luck of the draw. Grab a card from a company with great CS that won't just keep sending you the same card back and you're good. You may or may not have downtime but at least you know you're getting a new card on RMA. Asus like to keep giving people the runaround, MSI is hit or miss when you deal with them, eVGA you can sometimes get that frustrated person on the phone but usually you don't ever have to deal with anything other than their RMA section on their site.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 03:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default Re: Upgrading both my systems

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Corsair doesn't make PSUs, in case you didn't know, but their OEMs are damn good.
I didn't realize this. Do you know who is manufacturing the PSU for them?
Brew_WY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 03:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: Upgrading both my systems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brew_WY View Post
I didn't realize this. Do you know who is manufacturing the PSU for them?
I believe SeaSonic is their primary OEM.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 04:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Upgrading both my systems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brew_WY View Post
I didn't realize this. Do you know who is manufacturing the PSU for them?
Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
I believe SeaSonic is their primary OEM.
Actually, not anymore. It's CWT and Flextronics. Seasonic made their TX line and I believe the original AX line. They went Flextronics for the AXi (high quality server PSU OEM peeps) and CWT does the HX line and I think the HXi line. CWT also produces their CX line. I haven't looked at any reviews yet for the HXi line so not too sure, only an assumption that should make some sense.

Edit: Yes, CWT makes the HXi line as well, and apparently does it in normal quality Corsair fashion.
CX: CWT
TX: Seasonic
TXm: CWT
HX: CWT
RM: CWT
HXi: CWT
AX: Seasonic
AXi: Flextronics (Usually straight 10s at Guru)
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 05:16 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default Re: Upgrading both my systems

I have been very happy with both my TX's and the CX I have has been trouble free so far. It replaced a Thermaltake in my really old build that is on its 4th PSU. I may just have to go with seasonic the next time I need another PSU. Thanks for sharing.
Brew_WY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2014, 05:32 PM   #18 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default Re: Upgrading both my systems

There's no problem going with Seasonic or Corsair. I just don't want to go Corsair because everybody and their brother has a damn Corsair PSU. For good reason, but I'm going with a Seasonic 1200 probably. Next build will require some serious juice.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two new systems - Both without video. Jayce Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 25 12-22-2009 07:52 PM
How do i have 2 hardrives and get them both to work? Trax Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 81 03-19-2004 01:52 AM
Can i have 2pc's that are networked both runnin off my aol bb conn at same time? Paultheend Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 02-08-2004 04:07 PM
xp doesn't recognize keybroad or cdrom, but both are working = virus? helpdesk Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-09-2003 02:54 PM
DVD and CD-R both use the same IDE? mzpatti Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 07-04-2003 06:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.