Upgrading both my systems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2014, 03:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default Upgrading both my systems

So I am considering upgrading both my computer systems. One build is about 4 years old (my wife's) and my build is 2 years old. I list the system specs separately and what I was considering doing with them.

My Rig:

TWR: Cooler Master HAF X
MB: ASUS ASUS SABERTOOTH Z77 LGA 1155
CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge Quad-Core 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo) LGA 1155
HS: Noctua NH-D14 120mm & 140mm SSO CPU Cooler
GPU: ASUS GTX670-DC2-4GD5 GeForce GTX 670 4GB 256-Bit GDDR5
RAM: G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900)
PSU:CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready
SSD:SAMSUNG 840 Pro Series MZ-7PD256BW 2.5" 256GB SATA III
HDD:Western Digital WD Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5"

UPGRADES:
So I wanted to go SLI and add another ASUS GTX670 but Newegg just sold out of them about two days ago. So now I am thinking that I will maybe upgrade to a pair of these GTX 760's. I will also add another 8GB of RAM, some more case fans and a controller. I think I might start OC'ing my CPU also. I am primarily playing Darkfall: Unholy Wars.

GPU:ASUS ROG STRIKER-GTX760-P-4GD5 G-SYNC Support GeForce GTX 760 4GB 256-Bit GDDR5




Wife's Rig:

TWR: Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
MB: ASUS Sabertooth X58 LGA 1366
CPU:Intel Core i7-950 Bloomfield Quad-Core 3.06GHz LGA 1366
HS: Noctua NH-D14 120mm & 140mm SSO CPU Cooler
GPU: ASUS 5870 EYEFINITY 6/6S/2GD5 Radeon HD 5870 (Cypress XT) 2GB 256-Bit GDDR5
RAM:G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 12GB (3 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
PSU:CORSAIR TX Series CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V v2.3 SLI Ready
SSD:SAMSUNG 840 Pro Series MZ-7PD256BW 2.5" 256GB SATA III
HDD:Western Digital WD Black WD1501FASS 1.5TB 64MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5"

Upgrades:

She primarily plays Sims 3 and 4. I will probably add some more fans and a controller to her system also.

GPU: My old GTX670
RAM: Another 12GB of the same RipJaws

My biggest concern is that her PCIx 2.0 Slots won't be able to recognize the newer GTX 670 that is PCIx3.0 and I see this as being my only issue. Thanks in advance for any suggestions or advice.
__________________

Brew_WY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2014, 04:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,508
Default Re: Upgrading both my systems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brew_WY View Post
My biggest concern is that her PCIx 2.0 Slots won't be able to recognize the newer GTX 670 that is PCIx3.0 and I see this as being my only issue. Thanks in advance for any suggestions or advice.
It's backwards compatible.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2014, 04:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: Upgrading both my systems

To your rig, don't worry about the OC and just get a 970 instead.

To her rig, she doesn't need more than 8GB and she has 12. Give her your old 670 and she'll be set.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2014, 05:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default Re: Upgrading both my systems

Will a single 970 really out perform a pair of 760's? I figure this system will last me another couple years and it will be time to build again. And if they are that much better, what about just going with a single GTX 980? Its a fair amount more money than a 970, and I am not sure the performance difference is there for $200. 970's are out of stock atm.
Thanks again for your advice.
Brew_WY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2014, 05:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: Upgrading both my systems

Be about the same give or take and the 970 will put off a lot less heat and sip juice compared to the 760s. You can also add another later as they'll get cheaper. SLI 970s make a nice powerhouse right now. I do not feel the 980 is worth the cost. If you want a 780ti Drogos will sell you a new Asus one for $350. Just PM him.

You in 'Murica? They definitely aren't out of stock here.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2014, 05:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default Re: Upgrading both my systems

The ASUS 970's are out of stock on Newegg atm. I prefer ASUS as I haven't had failures with their hardware like I have with other brands. But I can be patient for now. Thanks again.
Brew_WY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2014, 05:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: Upgrading both my systems

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brew_WY View Post
The ASUS 970's are out of stock on Newegg atm. I prefer ASUS as I haven't had failures with their hardware like I have with other brands. But I can be patient for now. Thanks again.


I'm sorry.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 02:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 164
Default Re: Upgrading both my systems

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post


I'm sorry.
Not a fan of ASUS I take it?
Brew_WY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 02:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,291
Default Re: Upgrading both my systems

Not a fan of their CS good sir, or their RMA department.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2014, 05:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: Upgrading both my systems

I personally LOVE Asus BUT there RMA dept. is pretty bad and difficult to deal with. Most things if faulty will go in the first month of use so stores like newegg.com give you 30 days for a RMA and after that you deal with the company. I'll go with ASUS on anything but the video card because that is the one item that get the most abuse with heat and functioning fans. EVGA has the best service with RMA and I'm now trying out MSI for video cards, My second one and have not had to RMA yet LOL. I only had to RMA ASUS to thecompany once and holy crap did I spend a LONG time on the phone with multiple phone calls and finally got a RMA number and they sent the same board back repaired. Not a new board.

Dauntae
__________________

__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two new systems - Both without video. Jayce Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 25 12-22-2009 07:52 PM
How do i have 2 hardrives and get them both to work? Trax Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 81 03-19-2004 01:52 AM
Can i have 2pc's that are networked both runnin off my aol bb conn at same time? Paultheend Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 02-08-2004 04:07 PM
xp doesn't recognize keybroad or cdrom, but both are working = virus? helpdesk Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-09-2003 02:54 PM
DVD and CD-R both use the same IDE? mzpatti Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 07-04-2003 06:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.