Upgrading, AMD vs Intel? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2008, 09:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Default Upgrading, AMD vs Intel?

I am currently using this PC: Sony VAIO PCV-RS320 specs and Desktop specifications - CNET Reviews

I have this spare PC downstairs:
eMachines T2865 Product Information

I also have spare ram for both computers, creative X-fi sound card, & radeon HD 512mb AGP 8x video card.


Basically what I'm trying to do is build the best gaming PC with parts from either computer.

I've read that AMD's(vs Intel single-cores) are generally better for gaming and that the AMD 2800+ can easily perform on a 2.8 P4 level. I've also been told that the Hyper-Threading on my 2.6Ghz P4 is great for multi-tasking but doesn't really do much for performance in games.

My current PC isn't the best for high-end gaming, but it does give me a good graphics:fps ratio. One of the things that has always bothered me is how it chokes in video games. I am able to maintain a constant framerate of 30-100 depending on the game, but anytime something pops up it chokes and I get a half second lag spike. I do take care of my computer with monthly "Spring Cleanings".

I wanted to get a few opinions from people before I went cleaning & gutting computers for something that could be a waste of time. Even if it doesn't give me a dramatic FPS improvement, just improving the overall smoothness would be great.

Stormshift is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 10:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952
Default Re: Upgrading, AMD vs Intel?

With those two, the Athlon will be your best bet, especially since you want to play games. The socket A kicked the feces out of the P4's.

The eMachines motherboard will only support 1 gig of RAM, so that will be your biggest limiting factor... besides it being a few generations old, of course. Still, a gig will be great with XP.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 10:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Upgrading, AMD vs Intel?

Of those two processors I would say the AMD is the fastest. That said neither of them are very fast compared to even the cheapest dual cores.

What games are you wanting to play?

I don't recommend putting much money into upgrading either system at this point since the older components compatible with them will cost as much as newer ones that are significantly faster. You could build a new compute for $500 that would blow either of those away regardless of how much you spent on upgrades.

With the parts you have I recommend putting as much ram as possible and the agp graphics card into the amd system

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 10-16-2008, 03:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Upgrading, AMD vs Intel?

Thanks guys, I appreciate the feedback.

I'm mostly playing older computer games, but my current build does let me play a lot of newer one. I can run Crysis on high settings w/ 10~fps, or low settings w/ 50~fps, but I think that is because of the engine itself. I am able to play Warhammer Online with high settings but I have to turn them down whenever I PVP. I range from old games like Counter-Strike to more recent ones, and I'm surprised I am even able to run them.

I only have 1.5 Gigs of ram in my current tower, my two 512 sticks are pretty good and are compatible with the other motherboard. Sucks that I'll lose half a gig, but I guess it's worth it for the processing power itself.

Luckily none of this costs me anything but time. I'm hoping to have this hold me over till I move in January, then I'll be building a few grand gaming rig, and I'm sure I'll be asking you guys for some opinions :P

Hopefully I'll have this project done over the weekend, and I'll let you guys know my results.
Stormshift is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 02:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
BongWizard's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Upgrading, AMD vs Intel?

the reason you cant run Crysis well is the fact that its graphics engine is very bloated, but mainly that you havent got the newest GPU (ie integrated sux)... you'll need a new GPU to play newer games, as that is your major bottleneck here

But yeah... that Athlon will probably perform about equally as any single core Pentium
BongWizard is offline  
Old 10-17-2008, 03:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5

I kind of noticed something that sort of bugs me...

My AMD Tower is a eMachines T2865, which I posted the specs for at the top.
The stickers, manuals, and computer information all state that the model is T2865 with a AMD Athlon XP 2800+ Processor.

The web states that it should be running at 2.083Ghz, but "My Computer" says:

AMD Athlon(tm)
1.25 Ghz, 512 MB of RAM

What gives?

Here's a SS of CPU-Z:

Stormshift is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 08:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Redmo0n's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Upgrading, AMD vs Intel?

Thats probably some sort of cool and quite or speedstep type of technology that turns your cpu speed down when its not being used so it can save power and produce less heat.

Btw- I'm amazed you can have Warhammer on high, i have mine on low (can run on high) but my limiting factor is the huge ram usage.
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 10-19-2008, 09:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Default Re: Upgrading, AMD vs Intel?

So you're telling me the processor itself is doing that on purpose?
I've never heard of that before.

I'm just trying to figure out if the computer actually has a Athlon XP 2800+ or not.

I can have Warhammer on high but it's not playable if I'm PVPing.
Stormshift is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 01:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 59
Send a message via MSN to ~Tofu~
Default Re: Upgrading, AMD vs Intel?

my suggestion is to up grade your RAM cause i had the same problem before like you. I was playing this online shooter game. Every first game i will run around so that my computer would remember every corner of the map so that i would not lag next round when i see something different. After i got my 1.521Gb RAM (previously it was 512mb) it significantly increased my laggyness.

My second upgrade was the Video card and i realised that this piece of hard ware increased more performance then the RAM

So depending on your budget if you have enough money go get the Video card first, if not Go get 1Gb of ram
~Tofu~ is offline  
Old 10-20-2008, 01:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
Hussein19891's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Upgrading, AMD vs Intel?

With like ~120$ USD you can get a 4670 along with a Gig of Ram. Which should be able to handle ANY online game out right now.

That is if you have a PCI-E slot.


Hussein19891 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amd and Intel Ubannedme Laptops and Notebooks 5 10-05-2008 10:22 AM
AMD or Intel? justfitz New Systems | Building and Buying 148 09-10-2008 08:28 AM
Intel bans Nvidia Apokalipse Polls 66 06-24-2008 04:26 PM
Architecture of AMD vs Intel? TheMaestro New Systems | Building and Buying 4 11-01-2007 02:45 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 06:36 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.