Upgrading to an AGP Graphics Card. HELP PLEASE! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2008, 04:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 123
Default Upgrading to an AGP Graphics Card. HELP PLEASE!

Hi, I have a HP PAVILION a708.UK PC, currently has the original SIS 64mb onboard graphics.

I have an AGP slot capable of an 8x card, so I want to install one. Firstly, would any 8x AGP card be ok, or are there other features which I need to macke sure would be supported?

For example..do you think a Sapphire Radeon HD 2600Pro would work ok?

Play.com (UK) : Sapphire Radeon HD 2600Pro / 512MB / AGP / Graphics Card : Computing - Free Delivery

I hope someone can advise me.

THANK YOU!
__________________

__________________
My Specs:
Windows Xp Home
Intel Celeron 2.66
704mb DDR Ram
SiS Real256E 64mb shared graphics
80Gb Hdd
CD/DVD writer
cooleddy4 is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 04:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Upgrading to an AGP Graphics Card. HELP PLEASE!

You should be fine, only thing I can think to worry about is that your power supply can support that card. Do you know how watts/amps of your particular psu? It may not be enough.
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 04:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 123
Default Re: Upgrading to an AGP Graphics Card. HELP PLEASE!

Right.. on my power suply it says: 230V on the back and inside it also says DC Output 250w. Do you think this will be ok?

Also, I was wondering..do you think my comptuer would be up to scratch to play some of the new-ish games? like my processor etc? I might install some new ram soon.
__________________
My Specs:
Windows Xp Home
Intel Celeron 2.66
704mb DDR Ram
SiS Real256E 64mb shared graphics
80Gb Hdd
CD/DVD writer
cooleddy4 is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 01:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 123
Default Re: Upgrading to an AGP Graphics Card. HELP PLEASE!

Does anyone know if that will be alright then? Also...will it work with XP? Becuase I dont think you can get Direct X10 for XP can you? Will it work with Direct X 9?
__________________
My Specs:
Windows Xp Home
Intel Celeron 2.66
704mb DDR Ram
SiS Real256E 64mb shared graphics
80Gb Hdd
CD/DVD writer
cooleddy4 is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 02:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Send a message via Yahoo to FBR_BDavis
Default Re: Upgrading to an AGP Graphics Card. HELP PLEASE!

That power supply you have will have a hard time pushing the video card you mentioned.. For anything in today's mainstream market, you typically want no less than a GOOD 400w power supply.. By GOOD, I don't mean a PSU that comes with your case.. Far too many people make that mistake, and pay TWICE the money to replace the components they've blown up by using a shoddy PSU.. I would also like to state that AGP8x isn't exactly in today's mainstream, but, I would still recommend a minimum of 400w..

As for DirectX10, there is no OFFICIAL version of DirectX10 for WindowsXP.. So, if you intend to stick with XP, you're also stuck with DX9..

With the prices of components dropping rapidly due to newer technology being released at a more rapid rate than ever, upgrading to a PCI-Express based system can cost as low as $150 US, maybe even lower..
FBR_BDavis is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 02:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 123
Default Re: Upgrading to an AGP Graphics Card. HELP PLEASE!

Thank you for your reply. I have seen some 480W and 500W power supplies for around 30-40. Do you think one of those would be ok?
__________________
My Specs:
Windows Xp Home
Intel Celeron 2.66
704mb DDR Ram
SiS Real256E 64mb shared graphics
80Gb Hdd
CD/DVD writer
cooleddy4 is offline  
Old 10-11-2008, 03:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Send a message via Yahoo to FBR_BDavis
Default Re: Upgrading to an AGP Graphics Card. HELP PLEASE!

Don't just look at the power output.. Check the separate voltages for each component, and also check the efficiency of the unit.. If you're not overly familiar with the brand name of the PSU, chances are it's not a good one.. Heheh..
FBR_BDavis is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 12:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Upgrading to an AGP Graphics Card. HELP PLEASE!

Your psu might be a proprietary one, too. A lot of branded PCs tend to be that way. I will try and look yours up, but not tonight. I'm too tired
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 06:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 46
Send a message via Yahoo to FBR_BDavis
Default Re: Upgrading to an AGP Graphics Card. HELP PLEASE!

At only 250w, I would think it was a proprietary PSU.. Ugh.. :/
FBR_BDavis is offline  
Old 10-12-2008, 09:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Upgrading to an AGP Graphics Card. HELP PLEASE!

Cooleddy4 as you seem to be a newbie at this can I recommend you buy from the store in my sig, simply because they only sell reliable parts so you won't be swamped by the choice that Dabs.com, Scan.co.uk, overclockers.co.uk offer. They sell at a bit of a premium due to them being a small shop rather then a massive online store but there prices are competitive. I also like them because the sales staff actually answer emails quickly and are very knowledgeable not just trying to sell you a pitch for profit.

On with your problem I would not recommend that you stress your no-name psu with a new graphics card. Proprietary psu's are a lil shoddy and cheap they are more likely to surge and you could find that lovely 80 graphics card is destroyed in an instant. The psu is the foundation for your computer and if you build a house on sand (poor foundation) the house will be cheap but even light stress could cause it to fall down if you follow my metaphor.

AGP is a dying format that hasn't been mainstream for 5+ years now so it would be better for you in the long term to save up and bear the grit for a little longer until you can afford a complete system. If you want instant gratification then you will need more ram, better psu and to overlock that cpu to play at mid-low settings of modern games
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
Upgrade graphics card? darkop16 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-08-2008 05:50 PM
ati graphics card re-install virusxman Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-08-2008 10:29 PM
Updating Graphics Card...Advice? Shiinji System Upgrades 10 02-06-2008 03:44 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.