Upgrading an Acer PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2008, 09:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Default Upgrading an Acer PC

Hey, I recently bought an Acer Aspire T180 Sempron and am currently in the process of upgrading it (this is my first ever upgrade).

I have installed 4gb RAM which works fine and want to also change the AMD Sempron 3400+ to an AMD Athlon X2 5000+. I can't seem to find the exact specification of the motherboard it simply says that it is an nVidia nForce. I went onto the nVidia website and did some cross refrencing and I think that the new CPU should work, I just want some clarification.

I am also buying an nVidia GeForce 8600 GT and wondered also wether this would work without any problems.

Current PC Specs:
Aspire T180, AMD Sempron 3400, 4GB RAM, 160GB HDD, DVD RW, GeForce 6100 Graphics, 9 in 1 Card Reader, XP SP2


Thanks in advance,
__________________

Misdemeanour is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 10:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Upgrading an Acer PC



I'm guessing it's using socket AM2, since it's using DDR2 RAM. Which the X2 5000+ should work on. To clarify, can you please download a program called CPU-Z, and post a screenshot of the CPU and mainboard tab.

For a little more than the 8600GT, you can get a better card, in the HD3850.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 10:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Upgrading an Acer PC

Screenshots Attatched
Attached Images
File Type: gif cpu.gif (27.1 KB, 87 views)
File Type: gif mainboard.gif (24.9 KB, 87 views)
Misdemeanour is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 10:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Upgrading an Acer PC

Thanks. But it is very difficult, to make out the motherboard model.

Can you please post the model number?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 06:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Upgrading an Acer PC

Sure thing;
Model: EM61SM/EM61PM
Misdemeanour is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 06:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Upgrading an Acer PC

I can confirm that it does support X2 dual cores.

Here is the link:
http://global.acer.com/products/desktop/spec/AS.pdf
...just look for the Aspire T180.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 07:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Upgrading an Acer PC

Ah good stuff, thanks for your help. I'm now considering ripping it all out and sticking it in a new case and have come up with this but am unsure as to wether this would be a wise choice:

Case - Casecom LG-3360 Black Mid-Tower Windowed Case with Red LED and Red LED 12cm Front Fan - £19.99
CD/DVD - Out of Acer PC
CPU - AMD Athlon X2 5000+ - £70.43
Controller Card - Out of Acer PC
Display Screen - N/a
Graphics Card - nVidia GeForce 8600 GT - £44.06
Hard Disk - Out of Acer PC
Modem - Out of Acer PC
Motherboard - Out of Acer PC
Network Card - Out of Acer PC
PSU - X-Power 500 Watt Psu - 20+4 Pci-e & Sata - £29.99
RAM - Out of Acer PC
Sound Card - Out of Acer PC
CPU Fan - Cooler Master Hyper TX2 - £13.99

TOTAL = £178.46
Misdemeanour is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 07:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Upgrading an Acer PC

What site are you buying from?

The power supply doesn't look reliable, telling from the brand name.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 07:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Default Re: Upgrading an Acer PC

Oh infact just looking at the reviews, 2 of them said that it failed and one of them blew an internal component after just 4 hours. I think I'll give that one a miss. Could I just use the one out of the Acer PC or is there a budget one you can find for me?
Misdemeanour is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 07:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Upgrading an Acer PC

Yes, there is another more reliable brand I can find for you, if you tell me the site you're buying from.

Or if it's not a site, a brand I would suggest according to your budget, is FSP (Fortron Source).
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading my system..a few questions yamahammer342 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 12-13-2007 11:04 PM
Acer monitor san21893 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 12-11-2007 11:32 PM
Acer monitor not starting up. san21893 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 12-06-2007 12:14 AM
xp and acer laptop mayaseattle Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-21-2007 07:32 PM
Does the Acer Windows Vista have to be installed on a ACER or on ANY PC? Comptech Microsoft Windows and Software 3 04-09-2007 06:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.