Upgrading to 500 watt Power Supply w/ HP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2009, 07:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Upgrading to 500 watt Power Supply w/ HP

My Onboard video card sucks (as do most on board video cards) so I am researching video cards, I do some gaming (Second life mostly) Sims. I'd like to get into a bit more of gaming, but need a good graphic card. (I'm not going to spend more then 120 for a decent one.. I have the one I want pretty much decided on the graphic card Diamond Radeon HD 4650 - 1GB GDDR2, PCI Express 2.0, CrossFireX, (2) Dual-Link DVI, S-Video, Video Card 4650PE1G at TigerDirect.com

I also run graphics editing programs such as Paint shop and Coral draw. (though more into Coral Draw these days then Paint shop)

my motherboard specifications: Motherboard Specifications, IPIBL-LB (Benicia)*

and thinking of getting this power supply:
PC Power PPCS500 Silencer 500-Watt Power Supply - PCI-Ex-Ready, SATA-Ready, 80PLUS at TigerDirect.com

I got the following e-mail from HP

input voltage: 100-127v/8A
200-240V/4A

maximum output wattage - 250W

Power Supply is any standard ATX PSU

If you wish to upgrade the Power Supply of your P,C you can upgrade the Power Supply for the PC to a Maximum of 400W. However I would also like to inform you that, HP doesn't have any tested information for the Power Supply of the PC's beyond 400W.

These specifications are recommended by HP in order for the smooth functioning of the Computer. It is possible to install the High voltage Power Supply if the Power Supply meets the dimensions and number of pins specifications. However, the motherboard and chipset should also support higher voltage, and it has to be tested before installing the high voltage Power Supply. To check whether the motherboard and chipset supports high voltage Power Supply, I recommend you to visit the nearest HP Authorized Service Provider so that the technician tests the motherboard and provide you the maximum possible upgrade information.

NOTE: It is strongly recommended to test the motherboard and chipset before installing the high voltage Power Supply.

Will the power supply work for this computer?

Thanks!
__________________

beli301 is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 08:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Upgrading to 500 watt Power Supply w/ HP

Provided your case is ATX, that power supply will work perfectly.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 08:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Upgrading to 500 watt Power Supply w/ HP

If you are willing to go $100 for a GFX card, go for this one instead:
Newegg.com - SAPPHIRE 100265L Radeon HD 4830 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards
Currently $90 w/$10 MIR

That PSU will work with your computer, especially since HP verified that it can use a standard ATX PSU. PC Power is a good brand, and that is a good price (Newegg is out of that model... was $5 more but with a $15 MIR).

A higher wattage doesn't matter as it doesn't push the watts... they are just there if the computer needs them.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 08:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Upgrading to 500 watt Power Supply w/ HP

Thanks guys... I had a feeling it would.. but wanted to be sure. I never upgraded power supplies before, everything else yup.. upgraded no problems lol.

thanks for the link for the other one.. I will check it out and compare the graphic cards. As stated don't do much gaming... mostly internet and graphic editing
beli301 is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 09:09 AM   #5 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: Upgrading to 500 watt Power Supply w/ HP

The ATX specification describes the pinouts (voltages and tolerances) on those connectors. If the motherboard is ATX standard then the voltages supplied by any conforming PSU will be correct ie a 600W PSU delivers the same volts as a 250W PSU but the amps that can be drawn by the componants will be significantly higher.
The power and cooling will be a much better PSU than the one in your HP and yes it will work although you do not require as much as 500W.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 09:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Upgrading to 500 watt Power Supply w/ HP

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
The ATX specification describes the pinouts (voltages and tolerances) on those connectors. If the motherboard is ATX standard then the voltages supplied by any conforming PSU will be correct ie a 600W PSU delivers the same volts as a 250W PSU but the amps that can be drawn by the componants will be significantly higher.
The power and cooling will be a much better PSU than the one in your HP and yes it will work although you do not require as much as 500W.
thanks for the explanation. I realize I probably don't need as much as 500w but i'm thinking future use, and future graphic card replacements if needed. The ones I've been seeing have all required a min of 350w. Most decent ones from what i've been researching want at least a 400w, min. I'm thinking that with a 500w power supply, no matter what I upgrade to it should be sufficient in the coming years. I tend to upgrade my systems every 4-5yrs (yeah I know.. but as much as I use the computer and what I use it for.. they seem to do the job well).

and I verified with HP that my case is indeed a ATX case. I thought it was but wanted to be sure.
beli301 is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 09:44 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Upgrading to 500 watt Power Supply w/ HP

An HD 4650 or HD 4670 don't require that much of a PSU since they don't have power connectors..

You should only get a new PSU unless you are using like a crappy HP 200w PSU (which I highly doubt) and the HD 4830
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 10:19 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Upgrading to 500 watt Power Supply w/ HP

Well i have an HP 250 power supply...
beli301 is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 10:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Upgrading to 500 watt Power Supply w/ HP

You'll be safe if you get a 4650 or 4670.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
Problem possible power supply? KevinH Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 02-14-2009 12:12 AM
Dedicated power supply for a graphics card? wencke530 System Upgrades 13 02-23-2008 07:27 PM
Power Supply Guide Ste Overclocking and Modding 0 02-18-2008 03:18 PM
Power Supply Question Higach New Systems | Building and Buying 2 01-15-2008 11:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.