Upgrading! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2013, 03:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 41
Default Upgrading!

So i've been having to put some of the latest games off at the moment or running them on lowest settings because I believe my PC needs an upgrade. I'll post my specs and can I have some feedback on what I should upgrade?

AMD Radeon HD 6800 series 1GB graphics card
i3-550 Processor (3.2GHz)
4gb RAM
1tb hard drive

I've looked at my ratings on 'performance information and tools' in the control panel and here they are too:

processor - 7.0
memory (RAM) - 5.9
graphics - 7.7
gaming graphics - 7.7
primary hard disk - 5.9

I want to be able to run new games on medium graphics and not have fps lag, any feedback would be greatly appreciated,
thanks.
__________________

RobShift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 04:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default Re: Upgrading!

Those index scores mean squat, just an FYI.

Depends on what your budget is for said upgrade, and what your PSU is. Tossing a faster graphics card in there would help, but depending on what games you want to play the first gen i3 is getting a little dated. Overclocking it pretty high would help.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 04:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 41
Default Re: Upgrading!

I've got a 600w psu, I'm thinking of getting a new processor and more RAM?
RobShift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 04:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 41
Default Re: Upgrading!

My budget is probably about £200
RobShift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 04:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default Re: Upgrading!

For 200p you're not going to get much in the way of a CPU upgrade unless you go used. An i5 750 is still rather good for gaming today (I use one). Your graphics card isn't that great either though.

What games are you looking at playing? This will level the playing field because certain games are more CPU intensive, but the rest are all GPU.

Edit: So, if you were to upgrade here are your options.
CPU:
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/intel...dmi-69w-retail
Motherboard:
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/msi-b...-vga-hdmi-matx
Use current RAM.

Upgrade GPU:
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/2gb-p...mhz-cores-1152

Or buy used i5 (which makes no sense considering cost)
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Intel-i5-760...ywords=1156+i5
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-lis...condition=used

All in all, if you have a 6870, going with the first option would probably be your best. If you know how to overclock and have a decent cooler, getting the little i3 to 4.4 or 4.6GHz (easily doable) would suffice while having a card like a 760. I did that for a while when I fried my first i5 750. That was 3 years ago though.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 04:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 41
Default Re: Upgrading!

Wow thanks!
Um I'm literally wanting to play alot of the new titles, but it'd be nice to have new mmo title's running on high graphics
I think I should upgrade my CPU then, would I need a new motherboard too?
RobShift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 05:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default Re: Upgrading!

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
For 200p you're not going to get much in the way of a CPU upgrade unless you go used. An i5 750 is still rather good for gaming today (I use one). Your graphics card isn't that great either though.

What games are you looking at playing? This will level the playing field because certain games are more CPU intensive, but the rest are all GPU.

Edit: So, if you were to upgrade here are your options.
CPU:
Intel Core i5 3350P Ivy Bridge Processor - BX80637I53350P - Scan.co.uk
Motherboard:
MSI B75MA-E33 Intel B75 Motherboard - Scan.co.uk
Use current RAM.


Upgrade GPU:
PNY GeForce GTX 760 XLR8 Graphics Card - 2GB - GF760GTX2GEPB - Scan.co.uk

Or buy used i5 (which makes no sense considering cost)
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Intel-i5-760...ywords=1156+i5
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-lis...condition=used

All in all, if you have a 6870, going with the first option would probably be your best. If you know how to overclock and have a decent cooler, getting the little i3 to 4.4 or 4.6GHz (easily doable) would suffice while having a card like a 760. I did that for a while when I fried my first i5 750. That was 3 years ago though.
If you spend the money on a CPU then go with the bolded option which includes the motherboard you need coming in a little less than 200.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 05:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 41
Default Re: Upgrading!

Ahh that would be more convenient , thankyou, you've been so helpful.
RobShift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 05:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,287
Default Re: Upgrading!

Not only that, but much faster than getting a first gen i5. Although still capable, for the money it makes more sense to get something new.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 05:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 41
Default Re: Upgrading!

Could you link me the CPU you're on about? just so I don't make some stupid mistake
__________________

RobShift is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.