Upgrading... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2010, 07:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default Upgrading...

Heya! It's been forever. I'm actually looking to upgrade my build this time... Hopefully for about or under $500. Here's my current setup:
Quote:
Mobo: ASUS P5E (X38 Chipset, LGA775)
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 (2.4GHz)
Memory: G.Skill 2x2GB (DDR2@667)
Video: EVGA GeForce 9600GT (512MB, 256-bit, PCI-E 2.0)
HDD: SeaGate Barracuda 7200.11 (SATAII, 500GB)
PSU: XCLIO GreatPower 550W
I'm heading off to college next year, so I'm probably going to be getting a laptop before this time next year -- which means I'm trying to stay conservative with the money-spending on my rig. I'm aiming to play new games that are coming out, and I've got an eye on the GTX 460, but am willing to be talked out of it if you guys think I can do better spending my money on other pieces.

Thanks!
__________________

Ellothar121 is offline  
Old 08-02-2010, 07:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Upgrading...

if your price range for a gfx card is around $200, the gtx 460 is probably your best choice, it's a great card.
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 08-02-2010, 07:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default Re: Upgrading...

Oops. I meant to mention that I'm considering either replacing my motherboard/cpu, and going DDR3, or getting that video card -- I'm not sure that I have the assets to do both well. I'm really looking to upgrade with the most bang-per-buck, and I figured that for gaming, the video card would be a natural place to start.
Ellothar121 is offline  
Old 08-02-2010, 07:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Upgrading...

yea, because your current card is a bit lacking.

you could upgrade the gfx card and buy a cooler to OC the cpu too.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 08-03-2010, 08:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default Re: Upgrading...

How much better can I do, with regard to a processor HSF, than an Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro? Is it worth the money to get a better one?
Ellothar121 is offline  
Old 08-03-2010, 12:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Upgrading...

oh cuz you listed your q6600 at 2.4 which is its stock clock speed, so i assumed you were just running with the stock hsf.

the rest of your rig looks ok IMO, so if gaming is your main priority then the gfx card is where you want to focus, up to you really how much you want to spend on the upgrade though.
Muffin Man is offline  
Old 08-07-2010, 10:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Ellothar121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 180
Default Re: Upgrading...

Alright, so I have a couple of confessions to make...

A few weeks ago, I tried overclocking with stock cooling, just to see if I could. I got it running at 3.0GHz stably, can't remember temps. I attached my Freezer 7 Pro (using the thermal pad that came on it -- I cleaned the CPU surface prior to attaching it, though) to see if I could do anything more. When I turned on my computer, I ran Prime 95 to test it, and it immediately shot past 80C, so I panicked and shut it off. I decided to let it idle for the night, and check the temperatures in the morning. Overnight, it had gone up to 125C and stayed 100C+ for about 2 minutes, and then dropped back down to 80, where it stayed for most of the night (fluctuating between 85C and 60C, but staying mostly nearer to the high end).

I shut my computer down and was running off an old laptop until I got my new thermal paste and graphics card. After it arrived, I cleaned everything with rubbing alcohol, tinted both surfaces with Arctic Silver 5, horizontal line of the stuff across the processor's metal cap, and then attached the heatsink/fan. After starting my computer up, it idled at 50C for a second and then went up to 60C. I thought it would be closer to the 40-50C that people reported with this fan, but I figured I'd give it a try. Running Prime 95, though, sent it up to 85C again.

I recleaned and reseated my Freezer 7 Pro, and it idles with 0% load at 50C, but if I do anything, it shoots up to 60C and 100% load sends it up to 85C again.

Can I get some help? ._.
Ellothar121 is offline  
Old 08-07-2010, 11:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Upgrading...

i'm not sure but it sounds like it might not be installed correctly or loose somewhere.

could you post some pics of how you have it setup maybe?
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading existing midrange system DEADFA11 New Systems | Building and Buying 9 07-01-2010 11:23 AM
Upgrading a HP Pavilion A1440N - Graphics Card/PSU. Spikey00 System Upgrades 2 12-24-2008 07:45 PM
Worth upgrading to the i7? csaefong New Systems | Building and Buying 6 12-05-2008 09:09 PM
Possibly upgrading my computer Jason_B New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-20-2008 01:50 AM
Upgrading 3+ year old system Falconsbane System Upgrades 13 08-27-2008 03:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.