Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2016, 11:49 AM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question

Because before they discontinued it the 4460 was 20 bucks more USD than the 4440.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 10:03 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 107
Default Re: Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
CPU depicts what OS you can run, in this case Intel has had 64bit chips since Pentium 4. No worries there.

Go to the motherboard manufacturer's site. Easiest way is to simply GOogle the model and it'll be the top site. Did it for you. You'll have to figure out what GPU is in it.

You're limited to DDR2, and can get some cheap DDR2 off Newegg if it requires more. If this is for your parents and all they do is browse the net, do email or whatever then 4GB should be fine. Check periodically to see if they are capping RAM, add as necessary.

Why would he want to do that when it'd be cheaper and better to go Skylake?
Thanks, yeah I think I'll monitor the RAM for now, the DDR2 is really expensive. Should I look for motherboard updates before I set up Win10 on the new hard drive or do it after the new OS and hard drive is installed? Thanks again for the input, glad I don't have to return the 64 bit Win10 version.
__________________

delirium330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 12:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question

You need to go to the site to see if they even have drivers for the board before putting 10 on it. Are you in the states? You can get a gig of DDR2 for 15 bucks.

Kingston 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Desktop Memory Model KVR667D2N5/1G - Newegg.com
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 01:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 107
Default Re: Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
You need to go to the site to see if they even have drivers for the board before putting 10 on it. Are you in the states? You can get a gig of DDR2 for 15 bucks.

Kingston 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 667 (PC2 5300) Desktop Memory Model KVR667D2N5/1G - Newegg.com
1GB x 8 = $120... which is a lot for this old economy build.
delirium330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 02:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question

The board doesn't have 8 slots, and you'd only need 2 anyways since you already have 4. Filling the other two slots with 1GB sticks would cost 30 bucks and give 6GB which would be enough. You can also get 2GB sticks for the same price. 30 bucks would make it a total of 8GB.

2GB, 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM, Desktop Memory, Memory, Components - Newegg.com
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 11:32 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 107
Default Re: Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
The board doesn't have 8 slots, and you'd only need 2 anyways since you already have 4. Filling the other two slots with 1GB sticks would cost 30 bucks and give 6GB which would be enough. You can also get 2GB sticks for the same price. 30 bucks would make it a total of 8GB.

2GB, 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM, Desktop Memory, Memory, Components - Newegg.com
Got it, so it is okay if the slots aren't all the same size? Right now is 2-Empty-2-Empty. Okay if 2-1-2-1? Or if I pick up 2 new 1GB sticks, should I re-order to 2-2-1-1?
delirium330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2016, 11:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question

Shouldn't matter on that board. I had one and it didn't really care what RAM I had in it. You just have to make sure that in the bios it's set to the speed of the slowest RAM and correct voltage.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
server 2008 question jakeop System Upgrades 2 11-11-2011 07:14 PM
Question in regards to upgrading or new build zetahammy New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-09-2009 11:08 PM
Question about advanced vista optimizer 2008 Demalii Microsoft Windows and Software 2 12-10-2008 04:10 PM
norton antivirus 2008 or mcafee virusscan plus 2008? MonkeyBusiness Microsoft Windows and Software 8 03-06-2008 02:21 PM
Help with gaming comp build for 2008 chrisx706 System Upgrades 8 11-26-2007 07:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.