Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2016, 10:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 107
Default Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question

Hey everyone, hoping I can get some input on an upcoming Win10 upgrade for my parents desktop.

Current Desktop Specs:

MB: GA-EP45-UD3R (I think this is it: http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3013#sp)

Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q8400 @ 2.66GHz

PS: Corsair TX650W

Ram: Unknown Brand, 4GB DDR2 (2x2) (4 slots DDR2 available in the MB)

OS: Windows Vista 32 bit

Graphics Card: Unknown specs, but there is one there.

Other: Card Reader, DVD Drive, Wireless PCI Internet card, 500gb Western Digital Hard Drive

Use: Word processing, storage, internet

Iíve got everything backed up, ordered a 500GB Samsung SSD and Windows 10 64 bit OS. Questions:

1. Iím not sure if I can even run Win10 64 bit? Can someone confirm if that is possible with motherboard and processor I have?

2. This build is from 2008, what is the best way to upgrade any sort of drivers/bios or whatever for the motherboard if that is even needed?

3. Should I consider upgrading the RAM? What are my options there? Limited to DDR2?
__________________

delirium330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 10:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Portugal
Posts: 14
Default Re: Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question

Well until a whil ago I played a lot on an old 4gb Ddr2 core duo Q6600 pc. You have a decent processor, more than enough for What you do. The only problem is the limitation in upgrades within that same generation. The Ddr2 ram is more expensive in stores, and The speed is a lot lower. That board wont run ddr3 ( correct me If I am mistaken).
If you want to Spare money keep it the way it is. The ssd Will boost the speed a lot, and then when you get the oportunity upgrade for a 4th generation intel core i3 4170 or i5 4430, or even any other mid range processor. Get a low price Mobo like the h81 sťries and 8 gigz of ram dd3. You should be good to go at a 200$ (max) upgrade.
__________________

JahCunha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 10:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by delirium330 View Post
Hey everyone, hoping I can get some input on an upcoming Win10 upgrade for my parents desktop.

Current Desktop Specs:

MB: GA-EP45-UD3R (I think this is it: GIGABYTE - Motherboard - Socket 775 - GA-EP45-UD3R (rev. 1.1))

Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q8400 @ 2.66GHz

PS: Corsair TX650W

Ram: Unknown Brand, 4GB DDR2 (2x2) (4 slots DDR2 available in the MB)

OS: Windows Vista 32 bit

Graphics Card: Unknown specs, but there is one there.

Other: Card Reader, DVD Drive, Wireless PCI Internet card, 500gb Western Digital Hard Drive

Use: Word processing, storage, internet

Iíve got everything backed up, ordered a 500GB Samsung SSD and Windows 10 64 bit OS. Questions:

1. Iím not sure if I can even run Win10 64 bit? Can someone confirm if that is possible with motherboard and processor I have?

2. This build is from 2008, what is the best way to upgrade any sort of drivers/bios or whatever for the motherboard if that is even needed?

3. Should I consider upgrading the RAM? What are my options there? Limited to DDR2?
CPU depicts what OS you can run, in this case Intel has had 64bit chips since Pentium 4. No worries there.

Go to the motherboard manufacturer's site. Easiest way is to simply GOogle the model and it'll be the top site. Did it for you. You'll have to figure out what GPU is in it.

You're limited to DDR2, and can get some cheap DDR2 off Newegg if it requires more. If this is for your parents and all they do is browse the net, do email or whatever then 4GB should be fine. Check periodically to see if they are capping RAM, add as necessary.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JahCunha View Post
Well until a whil ago I played a lot on an old 4gb Ddr2 core duo Q6600 pc. You have a decent processor, more than enough for What you do. The only problem is the limitation in upgrades within that same generation. The Ddr2 ram is more expensive in stores, and The speed is a lot lower. That board wont run ddr3 ( correct me If I am mistaken).
If you want to Spare money keep it the way it is. The ssd Will boost the speed a lot, and then when you get the oportunity upgrade for a 4th generation intel core i3 4170 or i5 4430, or even any other mid range processor. Get a low price Mobo like the h81 sťries and 8 gigz of ram dd3. You should be good to go at a 200$ (max) upgrade.
Why would he want to do that when it'd be cheaper and better to go Skylake?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 11:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Portugal
Posts: 14
Default Re: Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question

Idk there but in Portugal skylake is almost 50 euros more expensive that 4th generation. The reeason why I have a 4690 and not a 6500...
JahCunha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 11:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by JahCunha View Post
Idk there but in Portugal skylake is almost 50 euros more expensive that 4th generation. The reeason why I have a 4690 and not a 6500...
Skylake and Haswell processors here are about the same price, but the boards went up in price as did DDR3. It's cheaper to get 8GB of DDR4 than 8GB of DDR3 and an H110 board is cheaper than a H81.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 11:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Portugal
Posts: 14
Default Re: Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Skylake and Haswell processors here are about the same price, but the boards went up in price as did DDR3. It's cheaper to get 8GB of DDR4 than 8GB of DDR3 and an H110 board is cheaper than a H81.
In that case yeah of is better to go for skylake
JahCunha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 11:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by JahCunha View Post
In that case yeah of is better to go for skylake
Yea I found this out when my best friend asked in our FB group if anybody wanted to buy his media PC i3 4130. I said sure I'll take it, then realized the cheapest boards went up $30. My immediate response was:

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 11:22 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Portugal
Posts: 14
Default Re: Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
Yea I found this out when my best friend asked in our FB group if anybody wanted to buy his media PC i3 4130. I said sure I'll take it, then realized the cheapest boards went up $30. My immediate response was:

If it was like that in Portugal I would be an happy man.... would get my selo 6500k and 16 gigz of DDR4 2400mhz... oh well we are a low end country after all...
JahCunha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 11:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,296
Default Re: Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question

Z170 boards are still pricey, and the 6600k is still over 200 bucks. My go to was an i5 4440 and an H81 board for all budget builds until the boards went up in cost.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 11:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Portugal
Posts: 14
Default Re: Upgrading 2008 Build - OS Question

Why 4440 and not 4460?
__________________

JahCunha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
server 2008 question jakeop System Upgrades 2 11-11-2011 07:14 PM
Question in regards to upgrading or new build zetahammy New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-09-2009 11:08 PM
Question about advanced vista optimizer 2008 Demalii Microsoft Windows and Software 2 12-10-2008 04:10 PM
norton antivirus 2008 or mcafee virusscan plus 2008? MonkeyBusiness Microsoft Windows and Software 8 03-06-2008 02:21 PM
Help with gaming comp build for 2008 chrisx706 System Upgrades 8 11-26-2007 07:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.