upgrading - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2007, 09:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default upgrading

I am upgrading my 3rd rig. I am getting another evga geforce 7600gt or 2gb of ram so i will have 4gb of ram.

What should i upgrade?

oh and will this ram work?
Amazon.com: 2GB 800MHZ DDR2 Kit: Electronics

I have that exact same ram but the timings for the ram i have are 5-5-5-15
The timings for that ram are 5-5-5-12.

My graphics card i have now is evga geforce 7600gt Ko and i wanted to go sli so if I do that will an evga geforce 7600gt co work?

Amazon.com: eVGA e-GeForce 7600 GT CO 256MB PCI-Express 256-P2-N553-AX: Electronics

I also want to know what you guys think would be better to upgrade.

oh and can xp handle 4gb of ram?

REMEMBER ONLY MY 3rd RIG IN MY SIG.
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 11:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: upgrading

bump bump
__________________

Norcent is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 12:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default Re: upgrading

I think for SLI the cards just have to be the same base model so as long as they are both 7600 GT you should be okay. And windows XP will not recognize more than 3 gigs of RAM.
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 01:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: upgrading

ok thank you. xp sucks then cause i wanted 2 more gigs of ram.
Norcent is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 01:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: upgrading

you could purchase a 64bit edition of xp if you wanted
Nick is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 02:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: upgrading

if i get vista do i have to get the 64 bit version to run 4gb of ram?
Norcent is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 03:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Space Ninja Pirate
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winona, MN
Posts: 586
Default Re: upgrading

No, vista can nativly recognize 4 gigs.
__________________
TheDiceman is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 03:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default Re: upgrading

ok thank you guys for all your help.
Norcent is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 01:22 AM   #9 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: upgrading

might wanna upgrade your PSU too if your SLIing if it doesn't have enough juice.
darksideleader is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 01:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 219
Default Re: upgrading

im pretty sure you need 64bit vista for more ram - i thought it was the 32bit/64bit that made the difference since that detirmines the maximum addressable memory?
__________________

__________________
AMD 3000+
2gb RAM
X800 PCI-e
80gb + 250gb WD HDDs
X-FI Xtreme Music
DVD/CD-RW Drive
IfYouHaveToAsk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading My PC adamr100 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-13-2007 03:09 PM
Upgrading 230V to 300V PSU piggysmile Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-20-2007 07:08 AM
Upgrading help valcan222 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 05-12-2007 07:21 AM
Upgrading parts Silverlord New Systems | Building and Buying 2 05-02-2007 08:45 PM
Question for Upgrading XPS 400 Medium Lammy New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-14-2007 01:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.