Upgrading from 128 MB...improvement? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-23-2006, 09:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to joepic Send a message via Yahoo to joepic
Default Upgrading from 128 MB...improvement?

My PC has a 1.7 GHz P4, and only 128 MB of RAM w/ windows XP. If I add 512 Mb, how much of an improvement will i see? This computer has a very slow response time, is that because of the so little RAM? If i add 512, would programs start up faster, and would i be able to navigate around them without much lag? Please be specific as to what improvements I will notice.

thanks
__________________

joepic is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 10:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

I don't even know how you got XP to work on your system! XP's minimum system req. are 256MB RAM! You will see an absolutely astronomical improvement in performance if you add another 512MB! Nowadays 1GB of RAM is considered the sweetspot!
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 10:04 AM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

You will see a VAST inprovment, both in programs and response time. GO forth... and upgrade!
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 10:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Actually the min. requirement for xp is 64 mb's but it will run ok with 128mb, But you will see a vast improvment with 512mb. Post back after you update it, (this would be after you are over the initial shock!!!, lol)

Quote:
• Pentium 233-megahertz (MHz) processor or faster (300 MHz is recommended)
• At least 64 megabytes (MB) of RAM (128 MB is recommended)
• At least 1.5 gigabytes (GB) of available space on the hard disk
• CD-ROM or DVD-ROM drive
• Keyboard and a Microsoft Mouse or some other compatible pointing device
• Video adapter and monitor with Super VGA (800 x 600)or higher resolution
• Sound card
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 10:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
I don't even know how you got XP to work on your system! XP's minimum system req. are 256MB RAM!
where in heck are you getting this information from? XP's minimum listed requirements are a 233mhz processor and 64mb of ram. i have it running acceptably on a a P-166@200mhz and 64mb of ram.

back on topic you would notice a decent increase. be sure of the ram you select because i believe the P4 1.7ghz came as both a Willamette core and Northwood core. the Northwood would require DDR ram and the Willamette RD-RAM
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 10:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to joepic Send a message via Yahoo to joepic
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
where in heck are you getting this information from? XP's minimum listed requirements are a 233mhz processor and 64mb of ram. i have it running acceptably on a a P-166@200mhz and 64mb of ram.

back on topic you would notice a decent increase. be sure of the ram you select because i believe the P4 1.7ghz came as both a Willamette core and Northwood core. the Northwood would require DDR ram and the Willamette RD-RAM
well this is the part where you guys come in to help me. i have a dell dimension 4400. what RAM would it take? give me a link, preferably newegg to a 512 stick thats cheap. i have one bookmarked, but i wasnt sure it would be compatible . it was $43. if you can find me a good 512 stick off newegg that would definitely work under $50 post a link. i dont need any special extra fancy ram, i'm not using the pc for gaming. thanks
joepic is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 10:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

That system should have pc2100 This would work fine To be sure Run CPU-Z It will tell you what you have.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 10:40 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to joepic Send a message via Yahoo to joepic
Default

ok, thanks so much. so i should really see a huge improvement? would i be able to multitask better even with my processor?
joepic is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 10:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

YOU WILL NOT BELIEVE IT,,, That machine will do everything like a brand new machine, I am not joking!!! Can you say Night and Day!! lol

Don't forget to run cpu-z to make sure!!!
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 11:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to joepic Send a message via Yahoo to joepic
Default




heres the memory stuff from cpu-z
__________________

joepic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.