upgraded my RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2009, 03:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
clark33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 247
Default upgraded my RAM

My Mobo has a recommended limit of no more than 2gb RAM. However, believing i could push it a bit - i've been running with 2.5gb RAM. I have just taken the 512MB RAM bit out my mem slot and im now just running on 2gb - and i have to say, it seems to be more sharper. So i guess, you should never run on more than your motherboards recommended max??

Thanks
__________________

__________________
“The best plans of men and mice often go awry”
clark33 is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 04:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: upgraded my RAM

It could be that, as a result of removing1x512MB you are now running in dual channel.
__________________

__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 06:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: upgraded my RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmote View Post
It could be that, as a result of removing1x512MB you are now running in dual channel.
said like a pro. or just that ur mb was designed to run just 2 gb
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 03:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 116
Default Re: upgraded my RAM

I've heard of people ecountering problems when the other DIMM slot is empty, or you have different capacities of ram in each slot(i.e 1gb and 512mb).
Difolo is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 06:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
clark33's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 247
Default Re: upgraded my RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Difolo View Post
I've heard of people ecountering problems when the other DIMM slot is empty, or you have different capacities of ram in each slot(i.e 1gb and 512mb).
It's funny you should say that, as i was just about to post an update, to say that i now think my original statement was wrong. I notice a slight performance decrease operating with one 2gb bit and the other slot empty. (prior to last week; i had the 2gb bit in one slot and 512MB on other slot). I dont think running half a gig above the recommended capacity will do any harm what so ever. Therefore i am about to open my case back up and put the 512MB RAM back in. I do have dual channel slots, but I cant run two 2 gig bits - as having 4 gigs would shock my mobo i think. Therefore im certain that if i go with one 2gig and one 512 MB, would be better than dual channeling two 1 gig bits. Atleast - from the perspective of what techie knowledge I have, which isnt as much as some of the people on here
__________________
“The best plans of men and mice often go awry”
clark33 is offline  
Old 01-11-2009, 07:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: upgraded my RAM

The 1gb sticks would always be in dual channel with the extra 512 or without. There is no effect on performance by using different sized sticks of ram providing the speeds are the same. The motherboard can only set one generic speed to all ram so the slowest ram speed you put in there will limit faster ram dimms. It won't do any harm to stick too much in the slots and it may increase performance slightly. This would give no real world performance difference unless the speeds where vastly slower. It would inhibit overclocability though which in turn relates to real world performance

The 2gb limit is a rounded down approximation of the max capacity that the chipset will allow so it may be 2.1gb but for ease of documentation they put 2gb to be within safe guidelines and not have to bother with customer complaints. I assume your using xp given the age of the mobo and would only need more then 2gb if you are a professional media editor or CAD designer. Stick the 512 in anyway if you have no other use for it.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 01-13-2009, 10:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: upgraded my RAM

the slight performance decrease is due to the fact that one stick = single channel. it is very minimal.
also, are you sure your computer is actually seeing all 2.5gb? look at the "system" tab in the control panel.
typically what the mobo is made to run is what it will run, no more.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Problems carlito6904 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 20 06-14-2008 10:14 PM
Upgrading RAM for Dell E-1705 to 2GB Mach1threat Laptops and Notebooks 3 06-09-2008 05:45 PM
SLI ready RAM? Is it any better? What does SLI mean for RAM? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 12 04-17-2008 09:27 PM
Is faster RAM really worth the extra cash ? Osiris System Upgrades 1 04-16-2008 05:08 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.